1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Drive - What would happen if I...

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Monster, Jun 30, 2004.

  1. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have a Pentium 3 PC running windows 98. It has a 9.3Gig Hard drive that is getting full!

    I have an old PC with a 3 Gig hard drive that runs windows 98.

    What would happen if I took the 3Gig drive out of the old PC and plugged it onto the spare IDE socket on the mother board of my other PC????

    Would I get the benefit of 3 Gigs extra (once I'd deleted all the operating systems and files etc) or will it bugger everything up?? :eek:

    Is a better alternative to buy a new 80 Gig hard drive for £40 or so? If I did this is it easy to install?

    As you can probably tell I'm a bit crap with computers...(but I got X Box live working :clap: :clap: :clap: )

    Thanks for any advice!
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Moving the 3 GB drive to your PC will not cause any problems as the PC will (should) still boot from the original disk.
    Make sure you set the correct jumper settings on the 2nd drive depending on how you install it (master/slave).
    Once installed, switch on the PC and go into BIOS to make sure the PC has recognised the new disk.
    Then just let windows run and delete all the files from your new disk.
    Alternatively, you could reformat it which would wipe it completely clean.

    The procedure would be exactly the same if you bought a new disk.
     
  3. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes it would give you 3 gig after youve deleted everything. No assuming your current hard disk is set as master it shouldnt screw up, it would just appear a a sepperate drive letter with 3 gig on it. Yes getting a new disk would be far better 3 gig is next to useless these days. i think Aldi are doing a deal on 160gb samsung drives atm for £69.99 (look in the bargain forum) but an 80gig would do :)
     
  4. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks Chaps (Assuming you are chaps!)

    I think I'll install the3Gig drive to see if I can get it to work. If all goes well, I'll get a new, bigger hard drive.

    I'm not sure what you mean by BIOS so if I have any problems, I may be back here with further questions!!

    Brogan, Nice set up! I'm thinking about upgrading my DVD player to HDMI/DVI to partner my Panny 300 PJ. Have you compared component against HDMI with your kit and did it make significant improvements? I find my current picture a bit soft. It may just be the smooth screen technology of the PJ but if HDMI gives sharper images than component, this could help...

    Thanks again to you both.
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    BIOS stands for Built In Operating System and is the very basic OS on your mobo/cpu which picks up all the hardware, etc and tells the PC which drive to boot from (C, D).
    As long as you set the jumpers on the back of your drive correctly and connect it to the correct port/cable you should be OK.
    You can normally get into BIOS by pressing F8 when the PC boots up.
    Try it before you install the new drive and you should just see 1 drive set as master.
    Then install the new drive and you should see 2.

    As for HDMI, the DVD player has only ever been connected via HDMI - I didn't bother buying component cables or additional scarts for the few weeks I waited for an HDMI cable.
    I basically went from a £100 Wharfedale DVD connected via cheap scart to a Sony 32" widescreen to the set-up I have now so I wasn't in a position to make comparisons with my current kit.
     
  6. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure it's not Basic Input Output System ;)
     
  7. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Could be.
    It's a long time since I did Computer Studies and I'm sure that's what it was called when I was at school.... :blush: :confused:

    Means the same thing anyway.
     
  8. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +713
    Kramer is correct - but Brogan's description of its function is spot on anyway.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  9. Bobbler

    Bobbler
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Almost right but most BIOS screens are accessed by pressing DEL when booting, or sometimes F1.
     
  10. The Dude

    The Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,408
    BIOS shouldn't be an issue really, as any recent BIOS will detect a new hard disk with out any prompting..

    Other BIOS keys are F10 Dell,Compaq, IBM

    if you can't work out which one it is, just boot up with any key held down till you get a keyboard error, it will then prompt you to enter the BIOS by pressing 'X'
     
  11. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I knew I shouldn't have posted anything about BIOS...
     

Share This Page

Loading...