1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Drive Storage....

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Johndm, Sep 4, 2005.

  1. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Now...I'm a good boy, and back up all my original pictures to CD/DVD before I even look at them, also keeping copies on my H/D.

    But I seem to be filling up my drive at 750mb to over 1gb per days shooting at an airshow.

    My drive is in 3 partitions, C BOOT, D BACKUP, and E RECOVER.

    I currently only ever use C, which has 59gig free, 40gig used.

    Can I use the free space on D for files/pictures (1.25gig used and 86gig free), or is this part of the drive best left alone?

    As I understood, D and E are for system recovery (which I have had to use once) to restore the machine to 'out of the box' condition, but I'm unsure if the 'restore' needs the 86gig on D to be left free.

    Alternativly, anyone use one of the widely available USB external hard drives....are they as quick as an internal, or should I just install a secondary internal one?

    :hiya:
     
  2. severnsource

    severnsource
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Partitioning is a somewhat arbitrary activity, but presumaby E contains a copy of the OS installation files and, from the sound of it D is just a partition. If it's got 86G free I don't see any reason not to use it, you won't be overwriting any files that are needed for system recovery.

    I would add an internal disc if you want more storage. External discs shouldn't be significantly slower than internal ones, but in my experience they can sometimes be just a little unreliable and its 2 more boxes to get in the way.

    300G discs are available for ludicrously small sums of money these days.

    An external disc would be good as a back-up device though.

    Bill
     
  3. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    ive been fighting a loosing battle with my 80GB hdd for weeks now, its actually forcing me to delete the crap pictures!

    although that being said i need to format my pc, its got so slow, but without a DVD writer and having 60GB of pictures its proving a little difficult, i think im just gonna have to get another disc drive when i have some spare green.
     
  4. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Hi Bill,

    All that shows in D is 'Drivers, Tools and WUTemp', and all the OS files seem to be in E as you suggest, so I'll dump a few gigs of archived stuff into D.. :smashin:
     
  5. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Mine went 'slow' a few weeks ago. I tried everything to get it back to speed, but no joy, so I did a System reinstall with the recovery disk that came with the PC. No reinstalling windoze etc, it just put it back to 'out of the box config, which although was very cool, still left me days of work to get it back to my previous setup.
     
  6. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    I know that feeling well :thumbsup:
    Bit the bullet and bought a 250gb external firewire drive the other day, should be enough for a while.
     
  7. rdhir

    rdhir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    shouldn't have spent that £80 so fast
     
  8. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    its reet im gonna be archieving most of my shots to CDR anyway so i recon ill cut it down to about 20Gbs by the end of the week.

    it was good beer, and good petrol, it wasn't £80 squandered
     
  9. alastair

    alastair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northumberland/York
    Ratings:
    +0
    John, look into a RAID array if you are concerned about losing data. Not sure if its RAID 5 or RAID 1 which is best but both are good for certain purposes and ensure against data loss.
     
  10. condyk

    condyk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Easy option is an external and an internal ...

    Buy a separate external case (one with a fan ideally) from ebay and an 250GB or whatever HD and a smaller extra internal HD. Takes five minutes to put one in the external drive case and then the other in your desktop. Plug and Play.

    Then use Handy Backup to sync your normal documents folder and your photos folder on the new internal hard disk to the external.

    You don't really need 'drive' D, but might want to keep it free if you don't know computers that well and want to use the makers restore CD's. Just saves possible hassle.
     
  11. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    I'm 'fairly up' on computers, but no expert... its just I was'nt sure if the huge empty section on D would be used for manufacturers restore (not windoze system restore), and if by using that area for storage, I might have probs if I need to use it in the future.... :eek:

    An external drive looks to be an option (I have fitted internal drives/DVD etc, so not shy of that), I like the idea of being able to easily take a huge amount of data and dump it onto another machine.

    I have spare firewire sockets front and rear....further research required... :D :hiya:
     
  12. sorbiegunner

    sorbiegunner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
  13. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Cheers for the links..... :smashin:
     
  14. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unless things have changed recently Seagate have the best reliability rep.

    Unless your system is fairly recent it may not recognise hard drives that are very large (think it's something like over 127Gb). eg a 160G drive would only have 127 useable.

    I have an enclosure with a laptop drive in it - small and needs no external power. When you start with a new drive it has to be partitioned before you can format it and use it. Maybe someone knows a cleverer way but I had to connect the drive to the IDE cable (with an adaptor) so I could run fdisk on it. Then I put it in the housing and windows could see it needed formatting when I plugged in the USB.
     
  15. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    yeah, its pretty recent..P4 3.4GHz, and the partitions added together (C,D,E) = 186Gb.. :smashin:
     
  16. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the maker just chose strange names when setting the drive labels on your system.
    The recovery partition would normally be hidden so you would not see it in windows.

    That leaves you with a more normal setup of the drive split in two roughly equal logical drives C and D. Labels like 'system' and 'data' might be more appropriate.

    Is this a brand name machine? There is no way half the drive space is needed for 'backup' or recovery functions. Backing up to the same physical drive is daft anyway. Just use the space on D: . If it were mine I'd rename the drive label to 'data files' or something.
     
  17. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Its a MEDION Pc...German made... :eek: They are sold at.....wait for it....
    Toys R Us.. :eek: :eek: ..

    BEFORE you take the ****, check out the spec and prices. Mines not there now, as its a year old.

    http://www.toysrus.co.uk/Category.aspx/TruHome/TruComputers

    They come with the HD in 3 partitions...C as normal, D labelled BACKUP contains folders Drivers 106mb, Tools 945mb, and WUtemp which is empty, and 85.6gb free space.
    E labelled RECOVER contains 5.84gb of NDDTree and Recover folders.
     
  18. severnsource

    severnsource
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    If you're using XP (and Windows 2000) there's no need to go to these lengths. Just open control panel/administrative tools/computer management/disk management and the disks should appear (external and internal) and you can partition and format them from there. I've used several external drives and they could all be formatted this way.

    WUTemp is a temporary folder that windows update uses. AFAIK it can be safely deleted and will be recreated when you next do an update. If you want an extra bit of security you could back up the Drivers and Tools folder to DVD.
     
  19. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Medion is well respected.

    The biggest brand in Germany I believe. Aldi have had some good deals on them in the past with people queuing outside for them. I've always built my own PC's but I considered a Medion because of the price/spec. Didn't get one though :)

    WUtemp is the default name for windows update temporary files folder during the update procedure.Delete it if you want.

    Reading up a bit on Medions it seems the stuff on D: is there so you can back it up to CD if you want to have a copy of the drivers - thats all. You can use D: as normal.
     
  20. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been building my own PC's since the 386 with dos. Must get up to date with these new fangled ways :rotfl:

    You'd think XP would at least acknowledge the drives existance and offer the means to set it up when you connect it....
     
  21. rdhir

    rdhir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    never said it was!:D Were you drinking the beer or the petrol?:D
     
  22. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    There are a couple of factory disks that came with the machine, Its one of these I used recently to put it back to 'fresh out of the box' condition after it went totally ti** up. I'm guessing that this recovery disk uses the stuff already on D and E to reinstall C if you get what I mean? One recovery CD couldn't hold XP and all the other preinstalled stuff..

    Good idea for me to back up those drivers etc, but guessing again that I might be wise to leave them on D too. That would still give me another 85.6gb to use as extra storage.. :smashin:
     
  23. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the bit I read about it the stuff on D: is created by the recovery process that the restore CD generates from the image files on E:
    It also said the files on E: are in CD sized chunks so you can back them up too - which is the reason the partition is left visible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...