Hard Drive Advice

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Solomon Grundy, Jun 14, 2015.

  1. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    Hi. Really long shot but after some help please. My girlfriend had a 7 year old laptop and didn't backup photos (silly). Looks like laptop has died as it doesn't boot up at all. Screen is black. Power light comes on but that's all. Who would be best to take it to as there are loads of pics of her disabled son which she will never be able to get back if it is knackered. She doesn't need the laptop to be fixed and will buy a new one, just needs to see if any photos can be retrieved.
     
  2. hippo99

    hippo99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +10,342
    What's the model number of the laptop? It might have an easy to access hard drive slot, in which case you could just remove it & put it in a Hard drive enclosure.
     
  3. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    Toshiba satellite L655D is the model.
     
  4. Chadford

    Chadford
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,017
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    LS6
    Ratings:
    +2,606
    ^^^
    :smashin:

    A local PC repair shop can easily pop out the HDD and test it/transfer the data. If the HDD is failing but not broken it's still possible to retrieve stuff using something like...
    GRC | SpinRite 5.0 to 6.0  

    :)
     
  5. Sloppy Bob

    Sloppy Bob
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,318
    There are recovery specialists out there to get info off a HDD but the price is high.

    Easily over the cost of a new laptop.
    If it is just the HDD that's gone then the drives are a standard size and can be switched over in a few minutes, so the laptop may not need to be replaced.

    How to replace the hard drive in the Toshiba...
     
  6. hippo99

    hippo99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +10,342
    Should be really simple to take it out yourself if it's this one. Just stick it in an enclosure & should be able to retrieve the photos. If the hard drive is knackered the PC shop wouldn't be able to help.
    https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Toshiba+Satellite+L655D-S5095+Hard+Drive+Replacement/12846

    How to replace the hard drive in the Toshiba...


    The only issue I have with using a local PC repair shop is that a few years ago, there was an investigation done by BBC London news where they sent in laptops to various PC repair shops in London for repair, & a lot of the shops stole banking details & accessed a fake bank account/credit card from the hard drive they'd set up as part of the sting. Of course not all PC repair shops are dodgy, but...
     
  7. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    What would be the correct hard drive enclosure please? Impatience drives me to go to PC World...haha
     
  8. andrewt9763

    andrewt9763
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +461
    Can you boot to bios ?.Or is it totally dead ?.
    Try removing the battery and mains then hold the power button down for 30 seconds,plug mains back but not battery and try to start it.
     
  9. Inferno

    Inferno
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bedlam, Warrington, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,109
    If you can get the HDD out and it's only the boot area thats gone corrupt it's relatively easy to get the data off it, you could do it yourself on a PC.
     
  10. hippo99

    hippo99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +10,342
  11. aVdub

    aVdub
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9,630
    Products Owned:
    9
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    59°55'07.7"N 81°43'16.5"E
    Ratings:
    +14,705
  12. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    Seems to be dead as a working laptop. I'll get an enclosure and try that. Thanks.
     
  13. andrewt9763

    andrewt9763
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +461
    Goggled around seems these suffer the problem on the mainboard solder cracking try this
    1) Place the laptop on a very solid service, such as the floor.

    2) Open the LCD screen

    3) Place your left or right palm firmly over the FRTG keys on the keyboard - make sure to place as much weight as possible over these keys (don't worry, you are not going to damage the keys.

    4) While holding all your weight over the FRTG keys, press the power button to turn the system on.
    If it starts it's the problem above and needs a reflow.
    .
     
  14. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    Thanks. Still dead.
     
  15. stephenbarnes

    stephenbarnes
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +846
    Two choices

    1) Use the hard drive as a second drive, in another machine (HD enclosure) to recover data
    2) Send the hard drive to a data recovery company (very expensive)
     
  16. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    I'm going to get an enclosure this aft. Thank you.
     
  17. andrewt9763

    andrewt9763
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +461
    How many ram slots ?, and has it got ram in both ?.Try removing one then starting then,replace that and remove other and try.
     
  18. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,412
  19. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    I'm a complete novice so wouldn't know where to start. Will try the enclosure.
     
  20. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,241
    When you get the drive in the enclosure and plug into your PC, if prompted about 'this drive may contain errors' etc etc them make sure to tell it that you DO NOT want to scan for errors any attempt to fix them.

    Also, just in case it is the drive that is dodgy, be as prepared as you can be before you plug it in... work out exactly what you're looking for and where to go looking for it before you plug the drive in.

    When it comes to copying files folders you do them in order of importance to you, not size or convenience.

    Assume that you'll get one go at copying one folder before the drive packs in for good, and that anything else on top of that is a bonus. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2015
  21. stephenbarnes

    stephenbarnes
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +846
    Nor if it asks you to format it.
     
  22. Digital Tench

    Digital Tench
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +906
    While your at PC World I strongly suggest you get an external drive. To do regular backups!
     
  23. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,241
    Aren't you somewhere near Mkt Weighton, or is that somebody else?

    If you're in East Yorks I can call in and have a look tomorrow if you like, drop me a PM if you get nervous and we'll sort something out. :)
     
  24. Inferno

    Inferno
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bedlam, Warrington, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,109
    Where are you by the way?
     
  25. pandemic

    pandemic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,167
  26. hippo99

    hippo99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +10,342
    Not read any of the other posts in this thread I take it?:laugh:


    :p;)
     
  27. pandemic

    pandemic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,167
    ^^ I figured the ifixit removal was more reassuring as it's a well known "brand". Lots of people mentioning enclosures, but I much prefer a simple SATA to USB cable like clickme. To get what hopefully is a simple transfer job, fingers crossed the HDD is fine.
     
  28. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,412
    That's because a drive in an enclosure is much safer for a self-proclaimed novice. No chance of anything on the PCB getting shorted & the drive can then be used for future backups if the laptop is BER.
     
  29. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    I had a drive which was toast once, wouldn't recognise in an enclosure.

    I ended up sending it away to a specialist who extracted the data and had it on an ftp site within a couple of hours, cost £250. If you fail with the enclosure I will see if I can find the details.
     
  30. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    Aye I'm around Mkt Weighton. Luckily the enclosure worked spot on, thanks for the suggestions, so all the stuff needed was retrieved. It's a bit of a relief to be fair because as well as the photos of her son there were also a few naughty ones so she's glad to be spared the embarrassment of having to get an expert in to fix it! Haha.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List

Share This Page

Loading...