Hantarex videowall monitors (MGG 28 RGB). Problems connecting to 9 pin RGB HV input

aaronangell

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hello,

first time posting on this forum, hope my question is not too irritating or obscure.

I have recently picked up a number of beautiful old Hantarex crt monitors for a song . As I am an artist and curator, these monitors are the absolute gold standard for displaying video works in a gallery setting. Anyway, my problem is this:

The monitors I have are a rare version modified for mainly videowall use, and as such only have on input; a 9 pin din (or similar) RGB HV connection. Basically they are MGG 28 EQ models, but are rgb only. I need to be able to connect to these monitors as individual units. Ideally with dvd players, but possibly with pc or mac laptops etc. I am no expert and this has kinda stumped me. Have been searching manically around the web for days trying every avenue I can think of. I need to find a solution which does not require changing the chassis to have a SCART input (expensive to get done professionally/I have no idea how to do this myself), or getting an expensive scan converter or whatever, which i don't know if i'd need anyway.

I have the splitter boxes too (ImageMAG Electrosonic) to make a video wall with. These have individual 9 pin outputs to connect to multiple monitors, and y/c BNC composite input (which also says S-vhs above it) and also 6 pin RS232 Din input. I tried today to take a component phono lead from a basic DVD player to a phono-bnc adaptor into the composite bnc input on the splitter, and then took a single 9 pin from the first output on the splitter to a monitor (I hope no-one is laughing at me right now!), I managed to get a pretty stable but quite shaky and bright blue and red image on the monitor.