1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hanging a projector screen from the ceiling

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by doncoolio, Jul 21, 2005.

1. doncoolio

doncoolio

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just purchased a beamax r-black and wish to hang it from the ceiling. This screen weighs quite a bit and I'm worried that it will come crashing down.

If you image a sliding patio door, then you'll see that there is section of wall cut out to fit the door. I shall be hanging it inside this "cut out" infront of the window and then have a blind that comes down between the screen and window. Hence I'm not technically ceiling mounting but some sort of wall mounting. I know it is soild and strong as it supports the wall above the window.

The question is, how do I attach the screen to this "ceiling". The screen has two loops either end where I can pass a hook but I have no idea which hook would be up to the job and how to securely fix this hook?

This (http://www.treadmillsales.co.uk/index.php?product_id=175178&option=Prod_detail&image_id=73405 ) seems to be the best thing I have found, but I don't know how long it is and it might not loeave enough room for the blind.

Any DIY advise on this woud be much appreciated. :lease: :rolleyes:

2. Timmy C

Timmy C

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +206
    I'm no DIY expert so please don't trust me on this but I have a very heavy 9ft electric screen hanging from hooks on my ceiling.