1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

half life?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by edd, Feb 27, 2002.

1. edd

edd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, how long do crt tubes last. ive seen quotes of 10000 hours, is this before the unusable?

what i would like to know (assuming im right in thinking crt tubes just get dimmer and dimmer until unusable) what the half life is, how many hours untill the brightness halfs.

strange question i know, but im new to projectors so im just trying to get my head round how long it would last :)

2. Phil Hinton

Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7,068
    10k hrs is a conservative guess, I know Rolly had an 808s with over 20k on the clocks and it still looked amazing. As long as you look after the PJ they will last the natural life span no problems.

Infact before getting into PJ's i did some calcs, and watching one movie a day (which i never do) the CRT would last me 14yrs!

Dont get hung up on life spans. But do check the tubes of any PJ you buy for burns and wear.

3. edd

edd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    it was more that if i got a projector with say 2000 hours on, would i have a problem. id already done the 1 film a night calculation, at the moment im hitting 2 a day, but im a lazy student with nothing better to do :)

yester day it was batman and the usual suspects.

edd

4. edd

edd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    it was more that if i got a projector with say 2000 hours on, would i have a problem. id already done the 1 film a night calculation, at the moment im hitting 2 a day, but im a lazy student with nothing better to do :)

yester day it was batman and the usual suspects.

edd

5. Phil Hinton

Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

Products Owned: