1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Half Life 2 Gone Gold

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by samhain, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
  2. RichMercer

    RichMercer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, but it's still nearly a month until we can play it! I'm all paid up and ready though. So close now.
     
  3. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    We should start talking about how we can optimize our PC's! Im thinking to get that new logitech laser mouse to help improve response time. Not only for HL2 but for CS Source!.

    Ive already OC my CPU to 3.2ghz, up from 2.8.
    I also recomend that you "clean up" your PC.
    Use spy ware dectecting software and clean up registry and defrag your HDD!

    Any other advice on how to optimize your PC?
     
  4. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    Have any of you used Steam. I have half meg broadband and it was sloooooooooow. Think I will wait and get the CD
     
  5. RichMercer

    RichMercer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was ok. I was downloading at the full 1.5MB during most of the preloading process. What does it matter of it's slow anyway? You have about 27 days to download it.
     
  6. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    Just remember to pause it if you want to play games :)
     
  7. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'm trying to get part 6? on my pc but it's just sitting not downloading anything for the last 3 days. It's not paused but when i click on continue nothing happens :(
    I may just as well wait for the dvd release now i suppose.
     
  8. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    At this stage everybody will be scrambling to download it.
    Just be patient and: try agian later :laugh:
     
  9. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Where can you download it from ?
     
  10. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    www.steampowered.com

    Can the file be burned to CD, so you have a copy. I frequently wipe my hard disk.
     
  11. RichMercer

    RichMercer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, but you can download it as many times as you like using the Steam client so you wont lose it. It doesn't suit everybody.

    Besides, it wont fit on a CD, and it's not even being sold on CD. It's DVD only.
     
  12. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    That settles it then. Purchase from shop for me.
     
  13. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    i have a seperate operating system just for gaming :) no need for clean up :) also no need for Virus scanner etc so all power is dedicated to teh games. also alot easier to manage as well as they all one the one partition away from Work stuff. so if i get a sever virus on my normal/work/surfing Os i wont lose my precious gaming data :)
     
  14. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    By the way, there will be a CD version, its just going to be on 6 CD's. The DVD edition is a special edition so it will be limited.

    CTU, good thinking on the partitioning. saves a lot of problems!
     
  15. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    yup been doing it for years as ive needed to keep using a mixture of windows and redhat linux. only problem is swapping OS's but its very simple with some of the boot managers they have out these days. keeps things neat and tidy and no spyware will affect it etc. the onlu thing that runs is a firewall for when im online gaming and when i dont that is disabled :thumbsup: try it you will never go back to one Os again. can be managed easily with a combination of partition magic and a boot manager of your choice :smashin:
     
  16. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    you can burn it - but you do need a DVD-RW drive.

    I've burnt a copy of the steam cache files (*.gcf) from the steam directory and gave to a friend with a slow net connection and it works fine!
     
  17. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    CTU:
    Im actually thinking that my next PC will be for games only. Ill probably use a 64bit chip and a 64bit OS like longhorn. Ill keep this one for any other applications i might want to run. I also want to have both a high end NVidia card and a high end ATi card. It simply cant be denied that some games run better on an ATi card and others run better on an NVidia card.
    Unless someone makes a dual graphics card motherboard that allows 2 different cards to run!

    By the way, HL2 just unlocked itself on my PC. this means that all the preloads are done and its ready to be played. Just need to wait untill the 16th of next month!
     

Share This Page

Loading...