1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Half-height/low profile vid card for MCE

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by markav, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. markav

    markav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This subject was touched on a little while ago, but the only garaunteed suggestion, a Powercolour card, is no longer available in th UK (AFAICS)

    I am building an MCE box from a Dell GX260. Needs a low profile AGP graphics card, both the physical card and the backplate. I'm looking for s-video to output to my current old CRT tele and DVI for when I get something better.

    Have spent literally days mulling over the MS list of supported graphics cards against Scan/Dabs etc,, and words of wisdom posted here, but I can't find a single gard that fts, so to speak.

    Any help gratefully received!

    Mark
     
  2. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +730
    gfx Geforce 5200. Not sure about dvi though.
     
  3. MattTheBeanster

    MattTheBeanster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +93
    have a look at the x300se and maybe the 6200 turbo cache (i think that the name)
     
  4. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
  5. markav

    markav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +397
    Or use USB2 tv cards, and a powered USB2 hub (if you want!)
    lisa
     
  7. markav

    markav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought about that Lisa, but wanted to keep everything in one box as it will be in full view in the living room (functional minimalism is what I aim for).

    I've ordered a single-tuner Black Gold card as, TBH, I watch so little tele that the chances of 2 things being on at the same time are almost nil... and I want my kit NOW!

    One subject I've never seen discussed is the difference between Black Gold MCE and straight XP. The obvious one is no remote control. But is it also different firmware? Can a BG MCE card be used under XP at all? Enquiring minds want to know.

    Mark
     
  8. Scotty

    Scotty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Home Counties
    Ratings:
    +412
    The Black Gold MCE doesn't come with any software, you just get the PCI card, however the standard black gold comes with software and a remote that works under Xp, heres the blurb from the Black golds web site

    "A Black Gold DVB-T PCI TV card plus a full suite of software that gives you all the functionality of Windows XP Media Centre Edition on your existing XP machine. Watch , record and time-shift digital TV, browse your email, music, video and digital photo collections all from the comfort of your armchair using the powerful Black Gold Remote controller"

    All this for an extra £10 over the price of the MCE and it still works with MCE should you decide to go that route
     
  9. markav

    markav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I'd realised it was the same physical card (thought it may be different fimware or something), but with extras, I would have gone for the XP package, so I had the flexibility of bunging it in an XP box if I wanted to :-(

    Although it is an extra £20, not £10, based on the GTA website proces.

    On third thoughts, if the s/w is downloadable, that would get the same for free, except for the remote. Strangely there doesn't seem to be a link to a download page... The only thing I found was described as "MCE WHQL Drivers Version 5.17", whatever that is. Strange.
     
  10. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
  11. Scotty

    Scotty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Home Counties
    Ratings:
    +412
    The official Blackgold website lists them as
    £59 inc VAT and P&P MCE
    £69 in VAt and P&P Full product
    http://www.blackgold.tv/products/digital.htm (click on the buy on line tab at the top)

    I don't think the software is available separately :( but its worth contacting them if you feel you may need it
     

Share This Page

Loading...