Hadn't thought of this!

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by phil5743, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. phil5743

    phil5743
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ongar, Essex
    Ratings:
    +28
    With the (hopefully) iminent arrival of my new HD Sky+ Box, I suddenly noticed the amount of recordings still on my current hard drive waiting to be watched by various family members. Presumably unless the old box is put in other room these won't be retreivable after "HD day" so the pressure is on to do some intensive viewing. Luckily I have a 2nd Sony hard drive recorder that I can archive to but I will have to make time to do this. Not something I had thought of!
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Yep as long as there is a weeks notice then I can clear the SKY+ and record a few other things direct to DVD or even VHS (got out of the cupboard:eek: ) or just rely on the repeat showings:)
     
  3. golden phoenix

    golden phoenix
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,637
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    cheshire
    Ratings:
    +4,937
    just thinking about that today...anyway cant chat got to watch 40 hours of saved material !
     
  4. Giblets2

    Giblets2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +183
    So there is an advantage to Freeview PVRs (other than no subs) after all! :clap: I'm looking forward to being able to move my Topfield upstairs so that my daughter can watch CBeebies in the morning instead of Milkshake with all those excruciating adverts (if I hear that Barbie tune once again I'll go feral). Sorry, off-topic-venting-spleen session over! :blush:
     
  5. jay_edinburgh

    jay_edinburgh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't worry about it, you got plenty time to watch your recorded stuff :)
     
  6. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    I have started copying my planner as it is 69% full on a 160GB disc!!

    It seems a good idea to have a spring clean at the same time!
     
  7. bigfinger

    bigfinger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    85% on a 300 gig HD here... looks like we will both be glued to the box for a while.


    .
     
  8. Chevalier

    Chevalier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think you have two choices:-
    1. Keep the existing system (I presume Sky+) connected as well as the new Sky HD and play back at your convenience until you have watched all the recorded programmes. If you can't keep the old box connected then conncet it temporarily when you want to watch recorded programmes.
    2. Copy the existing recordings using the standard Sky+ facilities. The new HD box has some interesting connections that have potential for this purpose. In time we will see technical details for the new box and so establish whether this can be done.
     
  9. White Noise

    White Noise
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +6
    Good luck!

    When we got a 2nd Sky+ box before Christmas, the intention was to move the old 40GB one upstairs when we'd watched it all. The 160GB is still on the upstairs screen! But don't have to worry now cos the 40's going to be replaced by ashiny new HD Box!:clap:

    Does require more effort and discipline than you expect.
     
  10. sanderton

    sanderton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +20
    Won't work, as you have to have a Sky card with a valid subscription in the Sky+ to play back recordings, at least from the pay channels. cards are married to boxes, so you won't be able to use the one in the SkyHD box.
     
  11. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    I wonder if this is what the Sata connection on the HD box could be eventually used for. An external shuttle and your old HDD from the Sky+ box and then there's no need to lose your current archive.

    There's no realistic way that I'll catch up with all of the content I have yet to view within the next few months and I'm loathe to lose some of the stuff on there. It would be nice if Sky gave us some way of viewing it after the swap to HD. I assume that if they gave us a card to allow the old Sky+ box to operate that we could just use it to view the content on the HDD without having it cabled up to the satellite dish?
     

Share This Page

Loading...