Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Hack For Denon 2910/3910

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by JKPLATT, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. JKPLATT

    JKPLATT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I HAVE JUST EMAILED A FEW MEMBERS WITH THE FILES OF MY CD HACK FOR MY 2910, THIS CONVERTED IT TO MULTI REGION WITH NO PROBLEMS, AM HAPPY TO EMAIL THIS TO OTHER 2910,3910 OWNERS BUT AM STILL AWAITING A REPLY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT THAT MY EMAILED FILES SENT WORKED 100% THE WAY I SENT THEM
    JKPLATT@OAKLANDCONSERVATORIES.COM




    PANASONIC AE100 PIONEER PDP 435FDE DENON 2910
    SONY STR DB940 ENERGY 5.1 SPEAKERS SKY PLUS (250GB)
     
  2. Wedlock

    Wedlock
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +101
    Well I got it and used it according to the instructions i got with it.

    It worked fine upto the moment I had to push the three buttons together and it should say Initialize but it didn't.
    I tried several times but nothing happened :(

    Now my display doesn't work and I don't get any audio although I can now play region 1 discs.

    Does anyone have a solution to this problem ???
     
  3. indy911

    indy911
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The firmwares for 3910 and 2910 are different. Im not sure what would happen if you flash the wrong type into your machine. Did you flash the right version into your player?

    The region free firmwares for both the 3910 and 2910 are floating on the net (direct links are somewhere in the DVD player forum). You could try to restore that one and hope it helps.
     
  4. Wedlock

    Wedlock
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +101
    Well good news folks :D

    I've tried using the buttons on the player instead of the remote and it initialized right away.
    My player works fine now and even plays region free :rotfl:
     
  5. Engine Joe

    Engine Joe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which version of the firmware is it? -5?
     
  6. Demon00

    Demon00
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Id like to know what frimware that is also... or can I use the newest firmware and the "add" this multiregion hack mabye??
     
  7. Wiggins

    Wiggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Doncaster, S.Yorks, England
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi guys,

    I got a 2910 just before Xmas from a dealer that supplied projection screen/ projector, but the player did not have the mr upgrade. The company said they would get the disc from Denon and bring it over to upgrade for me. Unfortunately, they reckon they still cannot get hold of it. As I am desperate to play some of my R1 discs, and also import a few new titles (Hellboy Directors Cut for one) I would dearly love to be able to do the mr upgrade myself. I've no idea what the current firmware version is- the player was bought direct from Denon through the dealers. Does this make a difference to which mr upgrade I would need to use?
    If it is possible would anyone be able to send the mr upgrade to me?
    It would be vastly appreciated. I'll supply my email if anyone is kind enough to oblige.
    Cheers
     
  8. zoro

    zoro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I had -4 version region free firmware on my US 2910, I upgraded to -7 new denon USA firmware, but my region free is gone!

    i have been advised to use -7 international version. Can someone help me?

    If I upgrade to-7 and rerun -4 region free, my software shows -4 upgrade.

    Is there any handset region free hack, that could be applied after -7 firmware flash, and it keeps -7 and becomes region free..thnx
     
  9. josaka

    josaka
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok ......

    Hope this helps somebody.....

    There is no region free "update" or "hack"....

    There is only an entire machine firmware overwrite..(which overwrites the region free
    capability)

    What I have come to understand (from human media and others)
    is that there is an "international" version..
    Which you can upload to any 2910(regardless of the machines origin) ...
    it will then be region free!!

    The latest region free software I can find scouring forums in the
    UK , JAPAN , SINGAPORE and the US is version -4 whereas the current version
    which not region free is -7. Apparently -8 is soon..

    So any kind soul who has a later version (than -4) of the "international region free firmware"

    please e-mail it to

    josaka@hotmail.com

    ta in advance

    josaka
     
  10. Wiggins

    Wiggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Doncaster, S.Yorks, England
    Ratings:
    +17
    A member on this site was kind enough to email me a firmware update that is supposed to be the -4 (multi-region) firmware update. The file is d21zsvd.cfw.
    Does anyone know how you use the file to flash the dvd player? Is it simply a case of burning it to a cd and putting it in the player and it will update/ overwrite automatically? Or do I need to hold down buttons on the player etc.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    On a seperate note- I am still waiting for the company who supplied my dvd player to get hold of an update direct from Denon- they say they are trying to get an update for their own 3910 as well. As soon as they get it I will try and find out what version it is and if it hasn't become available from anyone else I'll post it on here or else email it to anyone who wants it.
     
  11. Engine Joe

    Engine Joe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a -5 multiregion. Check after you install to see what you ended up with.

    Here's how to do the upgrade:

    Burn file to CD then

    1. Connect to display device.

    2. Insert disc

    3. Display will show “disc loading” then “updating flash memory“
    FL display will show “writing”

    4. After 1minute loader will open.

    5. Remove disc and power off (not standby - hard power off). DO NOT CLOSE TRAY

    6. Power on and close loader

    7. Now press and hold Play (>), Forward skip (>>I) and Open/Close for more than 3 seconds until “INITIALIZED” appears on front display.
     
  12. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Make sure the disc is burnt at a slow speed. You could end up damaging the unit if it is burnt to fast and becomes corrupt.
     
  13. Wiggins

    Wiggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Doncaster, S.Yorks, England
    Ratings:
    +17
    Cheers guys. This may seem like a really stupid question though- how do I check what version of firmware is installed?
    Sorry, but the last player I had ( A Toshiba imported from America over 5 years ago) had a soldered multi-region device, so all I had to do was leave the unit in standby and change the region with the numbers on the handset. All this firmware upgrading is new to me.
     
  14. Engine Joe

    Engine Joe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the good news is that you don't have to region select once your set up. It'll automatically deduce that.

    Here's how to check firmware:
    1. Turn the small power button off on the front of the unit.
    2. Hold down the PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE buttons on the front of the unit, both at the same time.
    3. Turn the power back on and continue holding the buttons for 3 seconds, then let go.
    4. After “>II LOADING” shows on the display, press the 3,2,6,5 buttons on the remote (in that order) and then press the MENU button to see the version. Press MENU again five times to see the other settings for the firmware.
     
  15. dbeamish

    dbeamish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    A few questions before I buy a 2910:

    1) If there is a -5 multi region, does someone here have it working?
    2) Is there a list of differences between -5 and -7/8 - are they minor or major fixes?
    3) Does this MR firmware have any derogatory effects?
    4) Can someone zip it with whatever instructions come with it and mail it to me? d@vidbeamish.co.uk

    cheers guys.
     
  16. Wiggins

    Wiggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Doncaster, S.Yorks, England
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks again for the advice- I'll check tomorrow when I get back from work.
     
  17. zoro

    zoro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I need -5, -6 or -7 region free firmware for my 2910 too..thnx
     
  18. weborific

    weborific
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is either of these firmwares compatible with Denon DVD-910?? I really need a hack for it as watching DVD's on my NEC projector is causing a bending of the top of the image due to MAcrovision. THANKS!
     
  19. Paolo

    Paolo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pls can someone email me the zip file aswell.

    I need -5, -6 or -7 region free firmware for my 2910.

    Thx.
     
  20. dbeamish

    dbeamish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +8

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice