1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H56A & DVI Problem

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by BarryK, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    I own a H56A projector and am looking to purchase a DVI equipped Dvd player to accompany it. However when a friend came around tonight with his Denon 2910 (using the DVI-D Out [hdcp]) output with his Lindy DVI-D dual link lead the projector would intermittantly pick up the signal for a few seconds and then lose it and display `no signal`. Also when it did display a picture it would sometimes split down the middle and display the two images out of sync say. Does anyone know why this should happen please?
    Thanking You
    Barry
     
  2. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    That's a tricky one. It could be several things either with the pj or the DVD player.
    1)Check that you have enabled the DVI connection within the set-up menu of the projector
    2)Check that the adapter is HDCP compliant
    3)Connect the DVI cable BEFORE turning on the pj's power
    4)Check the DVD player has it's resolution set to match your pj or as close to yours as possible.
    5)Check progressive is not trying to be output by both devices. Only one can output progressive at a time, the other must be set to interlaced.

    I'm just suggesting possibilities, I do not own either of these units so maybe email Optoma's technical support on their website for more specific help.
     
  3. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is my H56a HDCP compliant. If not could that be the problem? If so are there any ways of getting around it.
     
  4. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    Yes it is .
     
  5. fedeg

    fedeg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Barry

    I'm very interested in your experience since I have exactly the same projector (H56A) and was thinking of buying the exact same dvd player to use the DVI to DVI connection.

    At the moment I am using the RCA to DVI cable provided with progressive component out of a Sony 765 and the results are not great.

    Please let us know if your problems go away and I will seriously consider the Denon 2910.

    Thanks

    Federico
     
  6. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, does anyone know for definate that the H56A is not HDCP compliant please?
     
  7. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    If not would a Dvd player that could disable the HDCP work? Something like the Samsung HD-945.
     
  8. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    sorry, you misunderstood me. The H56a IS HDCP compliant.
     
  9. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry to question you but where did you see that it is HDCP compliant, as when I am checking the manual etc. is no reference to it at all.
     
  10. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    Yes you're right. I did see a web site selling the H56a which stated it was hdcp compliant, but on the Optoma web site it only says it supports HDTV, but makes no mention of the DVI connection being HDCP compliant as it does with the newer models such as the H77.
    So although I cannot categorically say it isn't, I also cannot say that it definately is !
    Sorry.
    Email Optoma and ask them to be certain.
     
  11. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    The H56 was not HDCP compatable, and as far as i remember that goes for the H56a as well.

    The H57 is HDCP compatable
     

Share This Page

Loading...