1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

guys please help recording vhs to hdd then dvd aagghhh

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by moomin2005, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    right i am transfering my vhs tapes to my pc via composite via tv card

    i have only found 1 program that have a very good picture after recording but the problem is it is using over 100gb yes 100gb for only 1-2 mins of video

    anyone any idea whats wrong

    please please help


    many thanks
     
  2. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I presume the problem is that you're recording raw video, ie. I assume it's a .AVI completely unprocessed. You need something that'l record and encode using MPEG or some other video codec that compresses the data as it writes it.

    'Fraid I cant' help with any ideas, I used to use a unit from Pinnacle for transferring my old VHS collection but don't think that's available any more.
     
  4. ukaudiophile

    ukaudiophile
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +55
    Hi,

    What capture card are you using and what software? For that kind of data rate you are almost certainly recording raw video without any compression. You really need a capture card with hardware MPEG 2 compression to give you an MPEG file you can then burn to DVD.

    Regards,

    Dave
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I think you must have a problem with Windows or your HDD as uncompressed video is captured as .AVI and that only uses approx 14Gb for an hour of video. 100Gb for 1 or 2 minutes means that something has got completely screwed up on your PC. Perhaps it's time for a completely clean install of Windows, and even a low level format of the HDD.

    Mark.
     
  6. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the tv capture card is lifeview prime 30 and soft is mainconcept pvr

    but its only doin it with this software but i have tried loads and this gives the best pic
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,908
    Forgive me for asking, but how do you know it takes 100gb for 1-2 minutes? Full Hard Drive, or other reason/symptom?

    And which Operating System?
     
  8. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a 160 gb harddrive, i recorded a couple mins of video to see if the software was anygood, i went to the saved captured video and it was just over 100 gb

    using windows xp
     
  9. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Impossible - to write 100gb to a HD in 1 to 2 minutes isn't possble. Its more likely to be 100MB.
     
  10. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi m8 thanks for you reply i have just recorded a clip again and i was wrong bout the 100gb thing BUT...

    this time i recorded a clip that lasts 2 min 10 secs but the file is 3,975,244 kb

    do u know what is wrong and how i can get this to record properly because if i do the whole tape i will prob run out og hdd space or there about

    many thanks
     
  11. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,908
    As KraGorn says, you need to use some compression. There should be options within the software you are using, to select exactly how the video is captured to the HDD. Experiment with those available. Use MPEG2 if it's there. With MPEG2, at ~DVD quality, you should get 2 hours of video into around 4gb.
     
  12. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Captureing directly to a compressed MPEG format is great for saving disc space, but it can cause a lot of problems. Direct conversion puts a lot of stress on the PC as it is not only writing to a HDD, but the conversion will hammer the CPU & RAM. Also on the fly compression tends to be lower quality as it can only do single pass compression, where a later date compression can take its time and do double pass. On the fly compression will more than likely result in jerky movement when there is a lot going on in the scene - this is a common fault with DVD camcorders.

    As I said previously uncompressed AVI video files will take up around 14Gb per hour. From a DV camcorder this video will have a 5:1 compression done in the camcorder before being written to the tape, so maybe you have a software setup issue here, or as stated by Roy Mallard in the video editing forum a corrupt HDD, hence my recommendation of a low level format of the HDD.

    Mark.
     
  13. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i only formatted my hdd last week
     
  14. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    But I would guess that was a standard format. A low level format needs to be done in DOS I believe - it's a while since I've needed to do this.

    Mark.
     
  15. CTID

    CTID
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Far, Far Away
    Ratings:
    +16
    why would he need to do a low level format? In fact, it will probably damage his disk. You will be telling him to park his heads before he turns off next ;)
     
  16. Cullea

    Cullea
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  17. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Why would a low level format damage a disc?
    In the past I have done low level formats on HDD's when friends have corrupted their PC's and a standard format has not worked. I've never killed a HDD by doing this. I know this is no real recommendation, but a low level format is a tool supplied by Microsoft with Windows and I doubt even MS would offer tools that could kill a HDD.
    Now why didn't I think of that - that's the real reason for all these problems :devil:
    Haveing worked in IT since the 80's I can remember with the mainframe systems I've worked on where this was a requirement and failure to do so could have the heads 'engrave' the surface of the HDD platters :nono:

    Mark.
     
  18. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the format was a total format, and was done in dos
     
  19. CTID

    CTID
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Far, Far Away
    Ratings:
    +16
    A low level format is dangerous and will destroy your disk. They are factory set with important drive information such as sector layout, servo, defect management, interleave settings. LLF them will destroy this and the HD. TBH I don't think you can even do a LLF outside the factory.

    I think you may mean zero fill, which is a method of permantley blanking the disk.

    where is this, I'd be interested to see what it actually does to a disk, I've got a few HD's lying around I could try and break!
     

Share This Page

Loading...