Guys have i spent my money well? NOOB!!

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by lerkio123, Jul 13, 2015.

1. lerkio123

lerkio123
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Morning Guys and girls im new to PC gaming and even newer to this forum!. My name is paul and i have just bought a secondhand gaming laptop which i hope is going to fit my needs. I have also been abit of a gamer but on the consoles. Anyway i need a new laptop for general stuff familly pic etc.. but i also want to play elder scrolls online as i have been a fan of elder scrolls for ages and i didnt want to get in to subscriptions with sony or xbox live so i have bought a laptop sumwhat blind and im hoping iv have bought well.. i suppose what i want to know is if i have had a good deal and will it run elder scrolls online as well as maybe far cry etc.

Anyway the spec is as follows:

Cleveo P170em vortex 3 i believe.. 17.3"
    i7-3610qm
    gtx680m
    8GB ram
    250gb SSD
    700GB HDD

I gave £550 for this machine and i believe it to be 2 years old ish?
    Am i going to find that i will only get 12 months gaming with this before the graphics card is obsolete?

2. Sinzer

Sinzer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,120
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-680M.72679.0.html

It will run most games well at 1366x768, for 1080P gaming it is a little underpowered, unless you are happy with 30FPS.

For the money, it is a decent machine. At lower settings you will get a good couple of years out of it, even more for less demanding indie games and the like.

Normally though it is better to ask for advice before buying something :p

3. lerkio123

lerkio123
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0