Guitar review: Brian May Special

GloopyJon

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Part One - Background

Introduction

I got my new Brian May Special guitar very recently and I thought I'd post a detailed review of it. These have been around for a while in various guises, but there aren't that many reviews on the Internet so I thought I'd add my impressions. I'll do this review in several posts to cover different aspects of the guitar, and I'll try to make it as complete as possible. I will also post some photos of my guitar.

About Me
I am not a professional or a particularly good or experienced guitarist. I've had guitars for most of my life but never really took it seriously until October 2012 when I got my copy of Rocksmith. Since then I've been playing a lot and have improved a lot, although I have a long way to go. Regarding guitars, I own six now (4 electric, 1 acoustic and a bass), including my BM Special, so those are my main basis for comparison (plus times when I've played other guitars in shops).

I am a big fan of Queen and of Brian May, as you might expect since I have this guitar. One of the best evenings I ever spent was at the Hammersmith Odeon, watching Brian and his band in concert, perhaps around 1992. His brilliance as a musician (not just as a guitarist) and the unique nature of his guitar have made me want to own a copy for some time, and now I've got one! I freely admit that I was predisposed to like the guitar anyway, but I've tried to be as fair as possible in my review.

History