Guide: Playing frame-packed 3D with madVR

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by BugblatterII, May 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. BugblatterII

BugblatterII

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,117
    Hi; a few people have been having trouble getting this working. I'm no expert but I have got it working well so I can give a few pointers. Others can perhaps fill in the gaps.

You will need:

MPC-HC with LAV filters v0.68 or later. You can download the LAV filters separately (which I did initially and they worked) but it's now simpler to get the latest MPC-HC nightly which has them already baked-in. Nightlies here: MPC-HC Nightly Builds

madVR. The latest full release is fine: madVR - high quality video renderer (GPU assisted) - Doom9's Forum

Windows 10. Windows 8 and 8.1 might work (please let us know); Windows 7 won't.

I found KODI with DSPlayer too inconsistent so I stuck with MPC-HC; others might be able to provide guidance for getting them working.

In MPC-HC options go to Playback - Output and set DirectShow Video to madVR.

Play a video and while it's playing go to your system tray and double-click on the madVR icon. Go to your device, then its properties tab and look at what the 3D format is sent to. I use auto for my LG OLED and that sends frame-packed 3D to the TV. This means the TV switches into 3D mode automatically.

In madVR settings go to Rendering - Stereo 3D. Tick enable stereo 3D playback. Tick when playing 3D content and select enable.

That should be about it for the player settings. Now comes the fun Windows bit. I have an Nvidia card so I'll let others comment on using Intel or AMD cards.

If you have a secondary display (e.g. a monitor) then you need to disable it. You'll also have to do this every time you want to watch something in 3D.