1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Guide on the Viera

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by GazTheHat, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi all,

    Is it me, or does the guide on the Viera only have a listing of what is on "now and "next" ?? It only ever shows these two progs. Just wandered if there's a way to show the programmes for the whole day, or rest of it?? That would make it useful. Browsed manual but nothing.
     
  2. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    actually press the "guide" button, that should bring up TV listings for the whole week.....
     
  3. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    Really!?! :laugh:

    Yes, i know that, but on "today" it only shows now & next, not the whole days listings.
     
  4. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    Would this be fixed by an update to the DVB tuner firmware?

    S.
     
  5. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Only trying to help :rolleyes:

    well theres something wrong. I get the next 4-6 hours and more if you scroll down IIRC
     
  6. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    How is this done? I tried the update from the menu, and it said no updates were available, that it was up-to-date.

    I checked the guide again last night. And it only ever shows just now and next for the current day. After davegtt's comments, i checked out the 7 day guide. Nothing shows for any of the channels on any of the days. Something like "No event available". So basically, the guide is a now/next service on my tv.

    Anyone have a similar experience, or is mine shafted/need tweaking? :confused:

    It's only a standard aerial i'm using, no sky/cable/etc....
     
  7. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Your EPG needs an update.
    They are available here:
    http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/download_schedule.pl
    You have to keep checking as they only broadcast Panasonic every now and then.

    You need the viera to power on to BBC1 in DVB.Then follow the instructions.
    From memory the new software is version 36.
    The above all worked for me.
     
  8. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks a lot Happy!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

    I thought there had to be a reason, cus the now/next alone in the guide is a waste of time. I'll lOOk into this now and be back if there's probs.
     
  9. buzzby

    buzzby
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have the same prob so thx for the thread
     
  10. buzzby

    buzzby
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ahh just looked they are updating next week between the 2nd and 3rd
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    02/02/05
    03/02/05
    Panasonic
    Th-37/42PE30B, Th-50PV30B & TX-26/32LXD1
    v2.36
    Repeat
     
  12. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    Fantastic, next week. To those that have updated previously, do you notice anything happening? Are there messages? Do you know when it's complete? On/Off after update?

    Just out of impatient curiosity... :rolleyes:
     
  13. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    You must power up straight to BBC1 in DVB mode. Then you get the message that new services have been found. Follow the instructions.Takes about 5 mins.Then says it's finished.
    You then get a full 7 day EPG
     
  14. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    Super, can't wait to play. :thumbsup: Thanks for the info all.
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    make sure you leave it in standby over night on a BBC DVB channel
     
  16. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    ?? :confused: ??
    Sorry, you got me there HD. Standby overnight? You mean turn it off (from remote), when viewing BBC1 in DVB?

    I always do that anyway, i never power down from the button on the set or mains. Should i be?? Never thought otherwise TBH.
     
  17. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeh, confused me too.
    I know from experience that power off, power on (from remote) works so long as the set goes straight to dvb bbc1
     
  18. GazTheHat

    GazTheHat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathaven
    Ratings:
    +16
    Cool, thanks for confirming that Happy.
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sorry been busy MEga Plasma test and all.... dont switch it off after watchong ITV3 on the days of update, switch to a BBC channel before hitting standby (and dont power off at mains or front panel) make sure you are on DVB not analogue
     
  20. pablo99

    pablo99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm gonna need to do this next week also.

    My current version is V2.26 and I have the "Now and Next" problem. Can I confirm I can also ask the telly to check for upgrades from the DVB Setup Menu? I plan to do this Wed night.
     
  21. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes do that , then next week when the update is being broadcast follow my earlier instructions about power up to BB1 in DVB etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...