1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GTX 690 for an Xbox One???

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs Forum' started by neil26581, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. neil26581

    neil26581 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,630
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +190
    Bit of an odd topic but a friend of mine has just found out he wont be getting his Xbox One pre order because of Blockbusters troubles, but I have a launch day console from Game ready to go.

    Now he is that desperate he has offered to swap his PC for the pre order, im not sure what the rest of the PC is but it does have a GTX 690 as I can remember him paying £800 for it last year does this sound like a good deal?
     
  2. Foster

    Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,748
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,959
    Is your mate delusional, 690 for an xbone I suggest you take him up on this offer!
     
  3. hopeless

    hopeless Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,232
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +374
    He's not thinking clearly. He could easily sell the 690 which would pay for an xbox1.

    If it were me personally and a friend was offering me his rig for a crazy price, I'd rather lend him the cash and tell him to keep the PC.
     
  4. Jamezinho

    Jamezinho Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,287
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ipswich, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +3,104
    Your mate needs his head tested and you should take advantage of this.
     
  5. Foster

    Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,748
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,959
    its not the cash hopeless its he cant get a launch day pre-order now.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. neil26581

    neil26581 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,630
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +190
    Yeh he is a bit weird like that went overboard on the GPU and skimped on everything else I expect, and now wants a day one xbone for Dead Rising 3 and some achievement!
     
  7. hopeless

    hopeless Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,232
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +374
    Sorry Foster, wasn't paying attention. Far too late for me.
     
  8. Foster

    Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,748
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,959
    Youll have to find out his specs =)
     
  9. Kwman

    Kwman Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,164
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +594
    Is he a good mate or just someone you know?
     
  10. Geoggy

    Geoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,913
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    rugbyarms.com
    Ratings:
    +57
    They still have day one bundles for sale at simplygames
     
  11. majnu

    majnu Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,766
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3,396
    someone who has a gtx690 will have a fairly high end components in the rest of his rig, even though I think your mate is crazy I would swap the preorder for the X1. Get yourself a Steam/Origin account and play games the way they were meant to be played. :thumbsup:
     
  12. boltlock

    boltlock Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,781
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +2,552
    I'd get in there quick mate before he changes his mind lol. Sucker!! :rotfl:
     
  13. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    34,730
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Watching you type your reply....
    Ratings:
    +14,637
    He's obviously on crack.

    Best exploit this. See if you can get some cash too and tell him you've been offered more as they're so rare.........


    Seriously though they're still for sale I believe so point him to the net and slap him to wake him up.
     
  14. Hillskill

    Hillskill Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    21,079
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +4,792
    Xbone rumoured to run COD Ghosts at upscaled 720p to 1080p. No brainer IMHO.
     
  15. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    34,730
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Watching you type your reply....
    Ratings:
    +14,637
    Not rumour mate it's confirmed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Hillskill

    Hillskill Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    21,079
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +4,792
    I was only ever going to buy one to play Cod with some friends. Can't bring myself to do it now. That's fraud IMHO. So many are going to buy this console for Cod oblivious to the fact that would be no better off graphically from their 360s. Wow!
     
  17. Tidy_Sammy

    Tidy_Sammy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,484
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +178
    My friend's brother sold a £200 GPU for £20, so stupid. Anyway, if that's value for him then I'd snap him up (as long as he realises he's paying for the luxury of having a release day console), or maybe pay him a bit more for the rig once you find out the specs.
     
  18. joelk2

    joelk2 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,104
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    GL
    Ratings:
    +833
    snap his arm off and dont look back.
     
  19. DeanE

    DeanE Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,942
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,435
    You're kidding? I know they like to churn the COD series out, but that is terrible. If I remember, the COD series always ran at 720p/60fps on the 360 and PS3 too, so like you said, absolutely zero gains.
     
  20. DeanE

    DeanE Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,942
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,435
    Not sure tbh, anyone willing to sell a rig with a 690 in it for an XO, who knows what other components are in there, it could well be powered by turnips.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  21. Furnace Inferno

    Furnace Inferno Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,087
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +659
    T
    They were actually sub-720p and still struggled to hold 60fps with lots of action so it is some improvement!
     
  22. Chox1988

    Chox1988 Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,829
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,277
    I'm not gonna say snap his arm off like everyone else, see what the rigs specs are, the 690 can be had for 500 now, so if the rest of the rig aint great then you might want to keep the x1. If hes your friend then profiting off him isnt number 1 priority.

    And if you want a console then there just isnt a substitute for it, if youre happy with pc then by all means i heartily recommend it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  23. Dave2

    Dave2 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +225
    yea cod running 720p on xbox1 due to esram and driver issues so the xbox 1 takes a hit with the resolution :( but that don't bother me as I don't play the game.

    to the original poster !!! blockbusters allocated stock will be reallocated soon and from what I hear game will probably get them so tell your mate to keep looking and asking instore and online.
     
  24. Razor

    Razor Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,443
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,423
    My view is he is a real friend then you wouldn't do the deal as it's not at all an even trade.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  25. Dave2

    Dave2 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +225
    spot on :)

    To be honest he wont miss out on much and probably save him self some money if he waits until December or January.

    I have my preorder and have been tempted cancelling but I could gain money and sell it on flea bay for an inflated amount.

    If it wasn't for some of the games and my friends having consoles I would be 100% PC and in my opinion both consoles are similar even though the ps4 has a little more power you probably wont see much difference in the games and he certainly wont get any benefit over his gtx690.
     
  26. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,949
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,599
    I'd take your mates GTX 690, then laugh at him when your rig is flying and he's stuck running upscaled games :smashin:
     
  27. DeanE

    DeanE Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,942
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,435
    Thing is though, you would at least expect 1080p. The COD series have never been as demanding on a system as other FPS'.
     
  28. Chox1988

    Chox1988 Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,829
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,277
    Somethings definitely off, maybe they just couldnt optimize it properly, if should run fine at 1080p, it my laptop will manage it then an x1 should
     
  29. Dave2

    Dave2 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +225
    from what I have picked up is some companies are having issues with the esram and the drivers they use in the current os build is what is causing issues so 720p had to be used just to keep it running smooth at 60hz but it should run @ 1080p but due to microsofts time scales they just didn't have the time or even quality drivers etc from mocrosoft.

    I think microsofts release date was brought forward from march 2014 and now its rushed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  30. neil26581

    neil26581 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,630
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +190
    I would'nt really feel quilty about doing the trade with him as he is desperate for an X1 and I dont mind waiting and could even go for a ps4 instead, his exact words were "I don't want you to miss out on one but I can't not have one" :rotfl:

    Found out that its a i7 2600 and 8gb of ram but thats about all I know going to have a look at it tonight.
     

Share This Page

Loading...