1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GT4 Dolby Pro LOgic

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by John Langton, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. John Langton

    John Langton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my PS2 connected to my 3805 and I have selected DD in the audio menu. However the only time I get DD is when the start up movie plays. When Im actually racing there isnt a DD signal coming through. Anyone else had this problem

    John
     
  2. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,687
    PS2 games only use DD in the cut scene's but never during the actual game play. Crap eh!
     
  3. John Langton

    John Langton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes that is crap as I understood the advertisemnts for GT4 to be DD when playing the game! Pants! I also learned today if I want to use the PS2 in progressive scan I have to watch an NTSC disk! we do get shafted dont we! Why cant it play PAL DVD in progressive mode!

    John
     
  4. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +61
    GT4 has DPLII in game. In the US and Japan they don't have the opening movie in 5.1. Only PAL games have it.

    I was unaware the PS2 could do prog scan DVD's! I have an NTSC PS2 (US) and I've never seen an option for prog scan (though saying that I never use it for DVD's).
     
  5. John Langton

    John Langton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have alook in the instructions manual. If it is the same as PA then there is reference to playing NTSC DVDs in Progressive scan

    John
     
  6. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +61
    Well, well..so it does! Yes...why the hell don't we have prog scan on our PS2's? After all this time I never knew that! Live and learn..
     
  7. John Langton

    John Langton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    slackbladder so do you have to mod yours to play PAL games and region 2 DVDs or do you just import US Games?

    John
     
  8. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +61
    I just import. I do have a PAL PS2 as well. But as I import most games I rarely use it.
    And as you know modding is illegal in the UK! But not in Australia....
     
  9. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,122
    Loads of NTSC PS2 games are in prog scan (480p) see here . There's even quite a few that display in 720p & 1080i. Very few PAL games are prog scan capable though - I think there are a couple such as Tekken 4 but they are very thin on the ground. From what i've read you hold Triange & X down during loading to activate prog scan mode in US/Jap games.
     
  10. figoagogo

    figoagogo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +584
    When you say DD what exactly do you mean? Dolby Digital, but in what format.

    See SSX for example of Digital Surround (DTS) in game!
     
  11. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +61
    Playing Prog Scan in game is no problem, there is always an option. However I never knew DVD had a prog scan option as I had never used it for DVD.
    Looking forward to Resi 4 as it has Prog Scan too.

    GTA: Vice City plays in DTS though it was more like 4.1 as it didn't use the centre channel.
    Generally though DD 5.1 is in cut scenes as in MGS2 and FFX-2 etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...