1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grundig GDS 300/310 ?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Joe Pineapples, Feb 26, 2002.

  1. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +838
    hi

    just wondered if anyone had one of these, and what the diference is between the 300 & 310. How it compares, speed wise, to the sony, panasonics etc?, any review links etc.

    a friend of a friend is selling theres, but i want to find out about it, before negotiations begin :)

    cheers

    Dean
     
  2. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +838
    oh well, guess no-one does have one of these then.

    I'll actually be trying one out sometime this week, so if anyone is interested, i can post my findings on here.

    Dean
     
  3. Beddie

    Beddie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have a 310. It's silver and ugly, but it receives Sky which is what it says on the tin !
     
  4. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +838
    yeah, i know its pretty ugly :)

    what do you think to the general speed of menu operation etc? (if you've ever experienced a 1st generation box, you'll know just how slow they can be)

    cheers

    Dean
     
  5. Beddie

    Beddie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +13
    Menus are fast, as are interactive services.

    Picture quality is good, and there is a Svideo ouptut as well as RGB if that's your bag.

    Never had to reset it in 6 months, so it seems to have stable software.
     
  6. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +838
    thanks for that Beddie

    i actually just picked it up off my m8 today, and i'll be trying it over the weekend, but 1st impressions confirm what you say about the speed.

    cheers

    dean
     
  7. gges

    gges
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Beware of the one they call 'Grundig' for he is an unreliable fellow! He tends to freeze, then stutter (a bit like GGGGGareth!). All then seems to be well. But he will mis-behave again soon!
    Other than that, he gives good service!

    Rgds, GGES.
     
  8. mart.stokes

    mart.stokes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many apologies, not watching the forum like I should. I used to use a Grundig 310/2, the s-video was a major convenience because I have an s-vhs video. Picture quality could be a bit "rough" at times hence the reason I backed off a bit when one Forum member asked if I was interested in selling it (I think the picture quality isn't too good on a 50" telly, he wanted to use it with a projector). I have had two 310/2s, both seemed exactly the same in this respect. Fast menus though!
     

Share This Page

Loading...