Grounding an amplifier

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Filipedine, Oct 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Filipedine

    Filipedine
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi All,

    I have a NAD 312 that comes with a ground post/plug, this plug allows to hook a ground cable to the amps chassi. Like many of us, I have the system on my living room, meaning no metal pipes available and no garden nearby to create an alternative ground. So I was wondering, if you could help me with some suggestions on how to hook this ground to the amplifier?

    Many thanks in advance

    Fil
     
  2. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,190
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +1,330
    I thought the grounding post was more to attach the ground from a turntable, it shouldn't be necessary to ground the amp I don't think.
     
  3. Filipedine

    Filipedine
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Will have to check the power plug, to see if it has 2 or 3 terminal, if it only has 2, then no ground is on the amp, 3 then there is a high probability that the amp has internal ground. But usually the outside ground is used when amps have metal chassis - so I would assume it needs to be grounded for safety reasons.
     
  4. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +919
    As Jamie says, the Grounding terminal is for a connected turntable. If the chassis required electrical grounding, that would be achieved by the mains input cable/plug. Your amp has a fixed 2-core cable and doesn't need grounding in normal use.
     
  5. dannnielll

    dannnielll
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    ireland
    Ratings:
    +759
    Agree with John. The amplifer will have been constructed in such a fashion that there is no possibility of the live,or neutral power lines touching any metal of the casing. It is a strategy adopted by a lot of audio equipment designers. The connection on the amplifer is to insure that the pickup signals from a turntable remain in a shielded..not (grounded ) environment all the way from the cartridge. The minute signals from a vinyl pickup,prior to the preamp stage are extremely vunerable.
     
  6. Filipedine

    Filipedine
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I've looked at the amp Power plug and it online has 2 terminals (hot and neutral), so no ground.

    Form what I've been reading, some time a go in HiFi it was usual to ground the amps When they had a metal fraim - could this be that type of case?

    Regarding turntable, can't speak about the it or tis issues has I am a CD fan and have Very limited experience, but Dannniellls explenation does also seem probable.

    Fil
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice