Ground Loop

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Savenvalaja, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Savenvalaja

    Savenvalaja
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, this is my first post, not sure if this is the right section, so if not - apologies!

    I'm a bit of an audio noob, but from what I can work out I have a ground loop causing quite a loud hum or buzz from my speakers.

    My system consists of an amp, with two identical speakers connected to it. Then connected to the amp is a computer and a television, both connected via 3.5mm to phono cables.

    The buzz ceases if I disconnect the aerial coaxial cable from the TV which makes me think that that's the problem. But I can't see to found on the internet a way to fix it, or at least I haven't found one I understand. :)

    So if anyone could spell it out for me, it'd be appreciated.

    Edit: Seen something like this recommended on several American sites, but can't find one for British aerial cables. Edit of an edit: Found this now, which looks to be what I'm looking for?

    Or could something like this work?

    Thanks, Paul
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011
  2. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,268
    It would help more if you told us exactly what amp and speakers you have. It is pretty unusual to be connecting speakers to an amp using phono cables which makes me, and I'm sure everyone else who has read this, wonder what kind of system you have.
     
  3. Mr Cheese

    Mr Cheese
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Down South
    Ratings:
    +19
  4. Savenvalaja

    Savenvalaja
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    :blush: Sorry, not sure why I wrote that, they're connected with normal speaker cables. I've edited the first post..

    Rotel RA-930AX amp and Wharfedale Diamond 9.0 speakers.
     
  5. Savenvalaja

    Savenvalaja
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22,958
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +8,625
    That should sort it, it is the same kind of device as Mr. Cheese mentioned but with UK connectors.
     
  7. Savenvalaja

    Savenvalaja
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, I'll order one, didn't want to spend 20 odd pound without making sure it was the right thing.

    Thanks for the help :)
     
  8. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    9,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,505
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  9. Savenvalaja

    Savenvalaja
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, got one on order, hopefully it'll cure it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice