Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Groove's new lounge with floating wall build

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by groove, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. ofthelane

    ofthelane
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
  2. groove

    groove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +159
    @Tankrs........ahhh , well you're right , i certainly couldnt tell from the photo. Maybe some dark brown paint matching would do enough just to disguise it if I ever have to go that route. The Yamaha is still going strong atm though , as much as id like to upgrade, I cant justify changing it........until I can convince the wife we NEED a projector that is !

    @ofthelane.....no worries pal , glad it inspired you in some way !
     
  3. tankrs

    tankrs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    What about the "Oh dear, I've Spilt some water over the amp, and i need to replace it with a new one. And, while we're at it we may as well get a projector" route.
    By the way you can get dark brown Fablon to cover chipboard if needed.

    Tankrs
     
  4. dazm41

    dazm41
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    worksop england
    Ratings:
    +453
    hi grove im going to do some thing simlar to your great job , my concern is the gap in the av units were your amp is .for my onkyo its a bit tight it measure 18cm my onkyo is 20cm ,iwas wondering whats the heatl like,with you having your amp in there .
     
  5. andy6581

    andy6581
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Groove

    I'm going to attempt some blatant plagiarism of your little project. I'm really loving the look of the Ikea Units, but i'm concerned they are a little too deep at 60cm. I was considering the Argos Minsk that Torn used:

    [​IMG]

    but i really prefer the look of the IKEA units!


    I was considering cutting down the ikea units and losing some of the depth of the units and the drawers. Then the unfinished edge would be up against the wall anyway. Without buying one and having a look at it i can;t really consider this and i wondered if you believ this would be possible, and if so how much before i start hitting problems (drawer runners etc)? Another possible conisderation was to build the wall so it sits on top of the units, but it would leave no scope for replacement of the units, and it would have to be perfect to look right.

    Can you also let me know what the distance is from the front edge of your couch to the front edge of the units? I'm trying to compare the size to my lounge. I think mine is quite a bit smaller in that it would only be about 6 feet in mine.

    Any advice greatly appreciated

    Cheers

    Andy
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  6. tankrs

    tankrs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +15

    Hi Andy,
    I have the ikea`s and i would not cut them down.
    They are designed to be the size they are

    Tankrs
     
  7. groove

    groove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +159
    dazm41.......The amp gets warm , i can feel the heat on the top on the top of the cabinet ....but its been in there knocking on 15months or so and has never caused my any problems. Its used all the time , not just occasionally as I have no speakers on the TV so whenever the tv is on...it is on.


    Andy....Ill grab my tape measure tomorrow fella and have a measure up..they are pretty deep , but they also look pretty damn cool. I wouldnt try cutting them down either , they are solid as arock when built , but i suspect a lot of that strength would go if you start cutting bits off.

    Thata said those Argos Minks look more practical for big amps !
     
  8. thelegendofyrag

    thelegendofyrag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nr. Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +74
    Great work Groove :thumbs:

    andy: i Have the Ikea Besta units which are 40cm deep and look similar without the feet. Plus you can add whatver doors/drawers you like.

    I chose to add two drawers with push opening mechanism, but you could easily add ones like grooves.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  9. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Groove,

    When I look at the website that colour looks like a very light grey! Yet in your pictures it looks like a dark beige/brown colour. I want the same as yours! Sorry to copy but it does look so good.

    So is it a kind of Brown? Or is it grey and just looks different as the light is hitting it?

    Thanks in advance,

    SDM197.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  10. andy6581

    andy6581
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5

    Hi , thanks.. which one is it you are using, is it this one?

    IKEA | Bookcases | BESTÅ/INREDA storage system | BESTÅ | TV/ storage combination

    Do you hve any pics?

    Chesrs
    Andy
     
  11. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    What unit is that? Also are the shelves on the left adjustable for height? Its just that I have just bought this Amp that is very high.

    Thanks in advance,

    SDM197.
     
  12. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    With the drawer you have removed, what is the height now? I want to see if I can shoehorn my Denon 4308a in there:devil:

    Thanks in advance,

    SDM197.
     
  13. tankrs

    tankrs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi SDM,:hiya:
    The specs for draw space are L54.5cm x H19.5cm x D56cm. Not sure what height your amp is, but, i would try to leave a gap of at least 1cm top and bottom for ventilation.

    Tankrs



    Just looked up dimensions of your amp (width x height x depth) 434x195x455
    I would not stick your amp in this unit.
    No ventilation!!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  14. dazm41

    dazm41
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    worksop england
    Ratings:
    +453
    thanks for that tankrs i was gonna ask for those dimensions my self ,i can get my onkyo 605 in that gap:clap:groove's started something now. ikea at nottingham as sold out of the brown/black:eek: spoke to a guy this morning at ikea he says they can't get hold of them fast enough there a good seller.
     
  15. tankrs

    tankrs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi dazm41
    Glad I could help.
    Have you thought about the beech?
    Page 26 of this thread #386

    Tankrs
     
  16. thelegendofyrag

    thelegendofyrag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nr. Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +74
    Andy, Im using this one IKEA | Bookcases | BESTÃ…/INREDA storage system | BESTÃ… | Shelf unit/ height extension unit and the 60cm one. Then added drawers and drawer fronts.

    Although i wish id bought three 60cm ones as you can slightly see the gap between where i put the two together so it looks odd.

    I don't want to add mine to this thread so look in my sig :)
     
  17. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    MMMM see what you mean, oh well back to the drawing board! Thanks again most appreciated,

    SDM197.
     
  18. dazm41

    dazm41
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    worksop england
    Ratings:
    +453
    ye tankers have looked at the beech one not my choice ikea they will have some in tuesday going to be first in the que.:devil:
     
  19. agent99

    agent99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Groove,

    Just wanted to say what an awesome job you have done to your house it looks fantastic.

    I would like to do something myself but half of the images in the thread are broken links any chance you can fix them?
     
  20. groove

    groove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +159
    Images look ok to me ?

    Is anyone else seeing problems ?

    I know I was getting near my hosts bandwidth limit ( 10gb a month !!! ) so i resized a load of pictures to try and keep them going .
     
  21. Dandle

    Dandle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ashford, Middx
    Ratings:
    +3
    They are all working fine for me too.
     
  22. Indecisive

    Indecisive
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Broxbourne, Herts
    Ratings:
    +25
    All ok here Groove :smashin:
     
  23. boardingdan

    boardingdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Well done groove :thumbsup:, your idea totally grabbed me and hence I've done very similar in my new extension. Everybody who's been around loves it.
    Top job mate.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  24. andy6581

    andy6581
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    And here's my blatant rip off of your excellent floating wall :D Hope you don;t mind!

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Ben_D

    Ben_D
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1
    Nice setup mate, just a question. On Google Sketchup did you use models or did you draw all the with the tools? If you used models how did you get them into Sketchup? I cant seem to do it!!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  26. Dodgy Bob

    Dodgy Bob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Hope you don't mind me asking but where did you get your Eglo Focus lights from? I looked on GB Lighting and couldn't find them.

    Thanks.

    Bob.
     
  27. groove

    groove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +159
    @boardingdan ...great setup fella....loving the making the feature wall even more of a feature by really contrasting it like that....looks stunning.

    @andy6581...certainly dont mind mate ! Looks brialliant....well it would as its almost identical ;-).....Really need to get a brown leather sofa like yours , finishes it off i reckon

    @Ben_D...I used pre made models, didnt have time or skills to make them from scratch ! Luckily the Ikea cabinets had already been made by somebody else ( although they had wheels on , but they were easy enough to remove within the program and save as a new model )

    @Dodgy Bob......Looks like Eglo have stopped making them , cant find them anywhere on GB Lighting or Eglo's catalogue. Lets hope i dont break any of them :-/
     
  28. Dodgy Bob

    Dodgy Bob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bugger.

    Thanks for looking anyway :)
     
  29. Event Horizon

    Event Horizon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +498
    Hi Groove!

    One of the best projects ive seen:smashin: everything works together extremely well.
    Well done mate!:clap:
    A quick question for you, the 3 Ikea cabinets, are they exactly 1200mm in length?
    Regards,
    Nck.
     
  30. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice