Green Tube problem continues :-(

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Forrestcat, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. Forrestcat

    Forrestcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for help with the pink spot problem I now have a new problem possibly linked.

    I have attached a picture. Its drawn Im afraid but hopefully gives a good idea. This is an over representation, You can see it clearly when contrast is very low on the tube face. On screen you can see it on dark scenes only. The middle area is defined because it is brighter than the rest.

    It is not the source as it looks like with this with no source, projector on only. Other tubes are good. Linked to the glycol problem?

    hope you can help

    James
     

    Attached Files:

  2. barcoed

    barcoed
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    I don't understand what I'm looking at.:confused: Could you expand with a description?
     
  3. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Stop the clock!

    Is it "Square peg round hole?"

    What do I win.........



    Yes, I too could do with a more detailed description.
     
  4. Forrestcat

    Forrestcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Barcoing

    Sorry, its a picture of the Raster as you look into the tube.

    If you can imagine without a picture it should be uniformly green throughout. The green has like a square in the middle which is brighter than the rest.

    It also has lines going up the left side of the square. When you look at the screen in dark scenes you can see that it is brighter in the middle.

    Fairly hard to explain, hope that make a little sense. Drawing was never my strong point.

    thanks James
     
  5. Forrestcat

    Forrestcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mad Mr H

    That took me ages I particularly enjoyed the colouring :)

    lol James
     
  6. Barcoing Mad

    Barcoing Mad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +242
    I think I'll ask my does it move around when you shift the raster question again.
     
  7. Forrestcat

    Forrestcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    The defects move when the raster is moved. Just to make it a little more clear the lines are darker and lighter areas of green.

    ok the picture was a little rubbish maybe I should not have drawn it from memory:)

    James
     
  8. draganm

    draganm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +15
    on a marquee, raster anomolies are almost always from the control module. sliding the module out and pulling the chips with a PLCC extractor tool ,wiping the contacts with some de-oxid and a q-tip, then carefully re-assembling will cure it 99% of the time. Be very careful with standard static discharge procudures and pay attention to orientation, the square chips only go in one way correctly. There's a small arrow inside the empty pocket which coincides with a beveled edge on the socketed chips.
     
  9. Swiss-Steve

    Swiss-Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    This could also be the folded image,

    When displaying an image, does it look correct, or is it also distorted??

    There is a technical bullitin fox for this,
    Curt's forum has the bullitin I think.


    Cheers
    Steve
     
  10. Forrestcat

    Forrestcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve

    The image is not distorted. The anomolies becomes harder to see as the contrast is turned up. They are actually present on all three tubes just alot easier to detect on green. I only noticed it when I tried a HD source (ps3) through the crystalio I think it maybe because the lead was a cheap one. For some reason it does shows the lighter area in the middle more. When I switched back to DVD you cannot notice it.

    It cannot be solely due to the source as the lighter square area on the tube is present all of the time but only really noticeable when contrast is below 10 when watching DVD.

    Difficult to explain, when you look into the tube to see the raster (when contrast is below 5) do you see a pure colour or do you expect to see some anomloies?

    thanks again James
     
  11. Tom.W

    Tom.W
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,067
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +104
    If you are saying one tube is always slightly on when the rest are off and you see diagonal lines it could be a short in the CRT tube.
     
  12. Swiss-Steve

    Swiss-Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    OK,
    So all 3 tubes show the same pattern, though not as bright as each other,

    Contrast 10 is for the Marquee??,
    This seems very low, I run mine at 56 for any source, SD or HD.
    When I turn it down to 10, I see a uniform green, Red or Blue field in each tube, no shading or banding etc.
    Brightness I run at 40 for daytime viewing(shutters down)
    Brightness at 30 for nighttime viewing.

    Now, as I call it, the CRAP 2 (Crystalio)
    What have you done with settings?
    From my firends here, I have seen that you have to set it up well for image problems to disappear.

    I don't have a PS3 so I can't help with the source, but maybe it is the C2 itself.
    Can you borrow or replace the cheap cable to test it is not this??

    What do the internal test patterns of the C2 look like, same problem??



    Let's keep working through this and get a solution.

    Cheers
    Steve
     
  13. Forrestcat

    Forrestcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve

    Sorry for not getting back I have been away. I do not normally run with a low contrast it is just easier to see when it is low.

    Basically when I watch Sky TV or PS3 the image seems too green during some dark scenes sometimes you can make out a lighter area of screen, middle section top to bottom.

    when investigting the problem I turned the contrast down that is when you can make out lighter areas on the raster. This happens on all sources including DVD. The lighter area is visable on all 3 tubes. Just harder to detect on red and blue.

    I have disconnected the crystalio just running the projector without any input. It does seem a little better but still has a little banding and the top has a curved brighter area. This is noticable on green and just noticable on blue with contrast turned down.

    Do you think this is linked with the picture seeming too green I have checked the G2 settings all are good and remains the same since setup. Could it be the crystalio?

    thanks James
     

Share This Page

Loading...