1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Greedy Scart

Discussion in 'TVs' started by windsurf123, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. windsurf123

    windsurf123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have a 28" Sony wide screen TV (about 3-4 years old). Connected to one of the scarts is a Yamaha DVD-S80 (plus matching surround sound amp)
    Problem is: Whenever the TV is first switched on, it momentarily goes to the last station viewed before "always" picking-up the scart imput from the DVD.
    This happens with the DVD player in standby/or on.
    Evey time I have to manually select a normal station to get away from the scart imput.
    It's like the DVD is constantly broadcasting itself even when in standby.
    Is there a way to stop this happening?

    Any help much appreciated.
     
  2. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    This is a feature of Sony sets, and others possibly.

    There is no adjustment on the tv to stop this happening.

    You can stop it doing this very easily, though. Undo the plugs on either end of scart lead and cut pin 8. This is responsible for sending a signal to the tv to ask your set to select the AV input.
     
  3. windsurf123

    windsurf123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    "You can stop it doing this very easily, though. Undo the plugs on either end of scart lead and cut pin 8. This is responsible for sending a signal to the tv to ask your set to select the AV input."

    Many thanks, I'll try this.

    Tim:)
     
  4. bockster

    bockster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    staffs (gods country)
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm sure that works but shirly you only need to cut pin 8 at one end!
     
  5. windsurf123

    windsurf123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Finally got around to doing the suggested "pin 8 cut".
    Works a treat, many thanks
    :p
     
  6. sjallen

    sjallen
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't leaving the player in standby/off mode work? It does on a PS2.
     
  7. windsurf123

    windsurf123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    You'd think so, wouldn't you! But alas no, the Sony TV always picked up the Yamaha AV amp, even in standby. Was really annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...