1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Great Price In-Car portable DVD

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by rasb0, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well Great Price IMO! I bought one today for the kids instead of Easter eggs (not that I would have spent £199 on Easter eggs mind!!) :D

    Costco are doing the Centurion PROPP70DVD for a tad over £199 inc. VAT (RRP is around £250, although it appears to be available on the net for £225).
    Inc's, 2 X 7" LCD screens, 2 sets of headphones (link below states 1 set but Costco's does have 2) and you have the no quibble return policy. :thumbsup:

    Full spec here:

    http://www.centurionsystems.co.uk/plugandplayblue.html

    If you're in the market for one of these, this could be the one. I know there was a recent thread on the subject of price and which one to buy.

    Just had a look at Monsters Inc. and it's fantastic. Hope the Kids appreciate it now they are 19, 21 & 22. :rotfl:

    No multi-region hack yet. Anyone help with this? :confused:
     
  2. A289

    A289
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of interest, do you know how it copes with home burnt DVD-R disks ? I want to record a shed load of CBeebies and hope that keeps the kids quiet in the car !
     
  3. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll give it a try and get back to you. :)
     
  4. Andy Clark

    Andy Clark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    A Long Time Ago in A Galaxy Far Far Away
    Ratings:
    +104
    Try these:
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=-9626&TabID=1&source=1&doy=22m3
    Today only. 24 left. £99.00 each, with voucher if you register you should be able to get them for £94.00 each inc. delivery.
    Just had two delivered, good quality, plays everything, SCART socket (not seen on may of these things), NO rechargeable battery so not portable if that was important to you. 7" screen that is seperate from the DVD player so easy to install/move around.
     
  5. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    does Centurion model have rechargeable battery, or must be connected to car power/ mains only?

    Ta
     
  6. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    No battery!
    Car/12V or mains.
     
  7. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've just got one and it appears to be 12v car lighter powered only. How do you run it from the mains ???? :rolleyes:
     
  8. SillySausage

    SillySausage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hia Davee,

    Buy one of these http://***********/3ojbe (Or a larger one depending on the current draw of the player. It should say what that is on the label)

    And one of these http://***********/4e52e

    Then mount the socket into the case of the dvd player, connect the wires up to the power wires coming from the normal 12v supply inside the case and off you go.

    Quite easy and cheap really, but will bugger the warranty up.

    I've done similar things on loads of 12V bits and pieces.

    As long as you make sure you get the right current and voltage power supply, and a plug and socket combination that mate up it is easy.

    If you are unsure abou it, maybe take it back into maplins and ask them for some help choosing bits.

    Adam.
     
  9. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks SS :thumbsup:
     
  10. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    This may seem like an odd question, but does anyone know if the "side wings" of the 12 v connector carry current or are they just there to keep the connector in place. Just that i had to pull them out a bit as the connector wasnt secure and kept coming out. Part of the bare metal of the "wings" now stick out of the top when the connector is in place and i'm concerned they may be dangerous. :eek:
     
  11. SillySausage

    SillySausage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hia Davee,

    The side bits are the earth connection for the power.

    The positive is the little nipple thing on the front.

    As long as the exposed bits do not come into contact with anything that has 12v going through it then it should be ok.

    Although check that the feed to the cigarette lighter socket has the correct fuse in it, just in case.

    Adam.
     
  12. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Many thanks for the quick reply Adam :)
     
  13. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry to labour this point, but do the two external wings need to make contact with the internal metal strip to work correctly. The way i have modified the connection, when the connector is inserted the external metal strips make contact with the plastic body instead. :confused:
     
  14. SillySausage

    SillySausage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +14
    yes they do.

    I'm in the middle of an on line game atm.

    will respond shortly ;)

    Adam.
     
  15. SillySausage

    SillySausage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +14
    Back again ;)

    I think you may have a problem if you have bent the plug arms to the degree that they won't now touch the sides of the cigarette lighter socket.

    If you look into the socket, it should have a metal housing and the side prongs have to touch this in order to make the circuit.

    If you modify it at all, be carefull not to let any part of the side touch the bottom of the socket, as this is where the positive makes the connection.

    If it was me, I'd leave the cigarette lighter alone and buy a seperate socket (And possibly new plug as it sounds a wee bit fooked.. lol ).

    Then I'd wire the socket into the car at a convieniant place. As long as the feed is fused at the correct rating then all will be well.

    Or you could just buy a new plug from Maplins and cut off the damaged one.

    IIRC, you should be able to put a small flat headed screwdriver inside the side prongs and lever them out slightly to make the plug grip a little tighter if needed.

    Let me know how you go on.

    Adam.
     
  16. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    You're a star Adam....i'll head to maplins and get an extension, then hopefully connect to this more securely. Many thanks for all your help. :thumbsup:
     
  17. whatdoiknow

    whatdoiknow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the Centurion model, does it have separate AV in to each screen, so one could be used to watch a DVD whilst the other could be used for gaming.

    I believe a Venturer with 7" screens can do that, I think it is being sold by Argos for £199
     
  18. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    No. The AV-in is on the DVD player and not seperate to each screen.
     
  19. garyc

    garyc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    Are any of these multi region?

    cheers

    Gary
     
  20. whatdoiknow

    whatdoiknow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Rasb0 at least it has AV in so I could attach a portavle VHS VCR.

    Martin
     
  21. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll give it a go tomorrow and report back soon after.

    I'm not hopeful and I haven't found any hacks for this model.
     
  22. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Tried a region 1 disc and the bad news is, region 2 only. :thumbsdow
     
  23. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    480
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    The venturer twin 6.2" screen one is great. Can have DVD on one screen, AV in (game etc) on other. Can be made multiregion via remote hack. Only problem is no resume on power off/on, so need a permanent live ciggy socket.

    Available from Argos on sale I think at 199.99 at the moment.

    HTH

    Dave
     
  24. PVR

    PVR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nr Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +0
  25. whatdoiknow

    whatdoiknow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  26. fjle

    fjle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
  27. PVR

    PVR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nr Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent deal indeed, just ordered it as well, thanks !
     
  28. PVR

    PVR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nr Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you get yours so quick then? Do they have a physical shop somewhere or so ... it says 10 days for delivery
     
  29. fjle

    fjle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes they have a few shops all up here in Gods country.
     
  30. PVR

    PVR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nr Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip, I was waiting for the summer hols, but for that price ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...