Graphics cards with HDMI

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by FeTT, Aug 5, 2006.

  1. FeTT

    FeTT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ive seen a few press releases/announcments on the net regarding graphics cards with HDMI outputs, I kinow Asus have released a Geforce 7600GT with HDMI and Sapphire have the X1600Pro available but I cant find anywhere thats selling these yet. Anybody have any ideas or know of anything due in the near future. Im looking for a 7600GT range card really since the 3D performance of the X1600 isnt up to the standards on the 7600GT.

    Thanks for any advice.

    Sean
     
  2. dmce

    dmce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
  3. FeTT

    FeTT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks mate Ill give that a read, cant afford to replace my graphics card just yet anyway I was just looking for some prices. Just bought a 32" LCD now im broke lol. It will probably be in the next 3 to 4 weeks so hopefully there maybe some more news/choices available and maybe some available in retail by then.

    Sean
     
  4. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    Why bother with a card with an HDMI connector? It is pointless at the moment as DRM requites HDCP support throughout the whole chain from source material to screen.

    Just use a DVI->HDMI converter or DVI->HDMI cable.
     
  5. FeTT

    FeTT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1
    Im hoping a card with HDMI will allow me to output 1-1 pixel mapping to my screen as from what Ive read on the forums it isnt possible on my screen (a Toshiba 32WLT66) through VGA or DVi-HDMI, havent tried yet as I dont have the screen yet its getting delivered tomorrow. Plus my 6600GT is starting to look a bit long in the tooth so was looking for something with a little more power.

    Sean
     
  6. dmce

    dmce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    This is what concerns me as well, but HDCP wont be inforced for at least a few years yet?
     
  7. PeteD64

    PeteD64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +48
    If it doesn't work via DVI->HDMI I wouldn't expect it to work with an HDMI equipped graphics card either. The limitation on supported resolutions is at the TV end.

    To me it looks like HDMI equipped cards will only be useful for playing videos at 720P res for most LCD TVs. If you have one of the very rare TVs that support native res over HDMI (LG 32LX2R, Sony 4xX2000) then it could be a good idea.
     
  8. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    powerstrip will be more use than a new graphics card.
     
  9. trifin

    trifin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    the nvidia 7950 have hdcp but use dvi.... so you dont need hdmi for hdcp?

    i have a sapphire hdmi and its a pain - im not using it anymore!

    i wanted an hdmi card so i could use a smaller cable.

    as it goes it doesn't work to well (driver issues) and as it is a certified by ati card then you are pretty much on your own as far as support goes...
     
  10. dmce

    dmce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    HDCP is supported over DVi as far as i am aware.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDCP
     
  11. Stiggy

    Stiggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sandy Heath
    Ratings:
    +1,043
    Perhaps we need a sticky FAQ for this, as we seem to get a lot of "What HDMI graphics card are there?" threads.

    Ideally it should include all this HDCP stuff, comments about audio, and the fact that the few cards that currently exist are rubbish!
     
  12. trifin

    trifin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    same applies to tv cards...
     

Share This Page

Loading...