Graphics Card Help! I think!!!!

SuperOxford

Established Member
Reaction score
Forgive but i am a newbie to this PC thing and am not sure what I am talking about!

I bought TOCA Race Driver 2 and it refuses to work.. When i run it i get a blank screen and then it just back to the usual screen that it was on before i clicked in the Race Driver icon. I have only ever played Championship Manager 4 and Medal of Of Honor on my PC and they both work fine. Is this TOCA problem because my PC does not have a graphics card or at least 1 good enough to run it?

I bought my PC from Evesham Micros but cant find the specs that i has when i ordered it about 6 months or so ago! My PC uses an AMD Athlon XP2000+ with 512Mb RAM. How do i find out if i have a graphics card and if I dont which card would you recommend for someone who plays games occasionally?

Sorry if this is easy for you out there but a simple bloke like mei would appreciate your help!

right click on your desktop, click on properties, then click on settings, then click on advanced. You should have a series of tabs - click on the one that says adaptor and it shoud give you the name of the installed graphics card.

Another way is through My computer, Control panel, performance & maintenance, system, hardware, device manager. Click on the + beside display adaptor and that again will tell you what card you have.

When you find out what it's called reply back and we can then assess if it's the problem. If it's a reasonable GF4 (ti4200, 4400, 4600) or above or a fairly recent ATI card like a 9200, 9600 or above you should be ok with that system. I'd have thought that even lower cards would have run the program but you would have to play on low detail.

i've just checked the box and the game requires a direct x 9.0b compatable video and sound card - if you are using onboard video this may be a factor.

Thanks for your help so far.

I have just checked and when i click on adaptor is says i have a VIA/S3G KM400.