Graphics Card Artifacts - What Could Be Causing Them?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Pbryanw, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. Pbryanw

    Pbryanw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N.E. Lincs
    Ratings:
    +103
    I have just installed a new HIS X1950 Pro Graphics Card in my system and I am getting artifacts in games (after about an hour) and in 3dmark06 (straightaway). I thought my Seasonic 500W PSU wasn't powerful enough so I upgraded to a Seasonic S12-650 650W PSU. This didn't solve the problem.

    So I now think it is either my CPU or Graphics Card overheating. According to ATi control center my graphics card temp is only 45C even after running 3dmark06. I have also just installed Speedfan and notice that my CPU temp goes up to about 78C (from 46C) when 3dmark runs. Just to see if cooling my CPU would do the trick I increased my Zalman Flower CPU Cooler fan speed and have not had any artifacts yet.

    So, is it because my previous card (an X850XT) was not pushing the system, and CPU, hard enough that I didn't get artifacts with that? Or could it still be a problem with my X1950 Pro?

    Many thanks for any help received. :smashin:
     
  2. Pbryanw

    Pbryanw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N.E. Lincs
    Ratings:
    +103
    I tried dialling down my Fan settings to see if I could reproduce the artifacts problem but it didn't come back. So I'm now at even more of a loss as to what could be causing them - that's if they haven't gone away now (more testing later today).
     
  3. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    14,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +3,759
    Your CPU is getting W A Y too hot.

    I would class 60c as dangerous but 78c is way way too far over the line.

    I would put it down to the CPU.
     
  4. Pbryanw

    Pbryanw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N.E. Lincs
    Ratings:
    +103
    Many thanks for the reply.

    Yeah I'm beginning to think it's the CPU too. I ran 3dmark06 a few times, and played C:S Source for an hour today and no artifacts. Maybe when I put the fan speed up, then down, it did something??? I measured the CPU temp, via speedfan, at the same time and it's only when I used 3dmark that the temp hit the high 70C's, so maybe that's why I got artifacts straight away in it yesterday.

    Anyway, I've ordered some compressed air so I'm going to clean my Zalman 7000 AlCu and see if I can get the temp down a bit. If that doesn't work I'll get some Artic Silver and re-paste the CPU or just turn the fan up a bit and live with the extra noise.
     
  5. reaper12

    reaper12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +119
    What CPU have you got? It's probably just that you knocked something a little loose when you put in your new graphics card. Taking out the CPU and Fan and putting it back in again should sort hings out.
     
  6. Pbryanw

    Pbryanw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N.E. Lincs
    Ratings:
    +103
    Yeah, I've got an old P4 3.06GHz. It's really dusty (Fan and CPU are around 3 years old) so I'm hoping a dust will clean things up. If not, I'll follow your advice and remove them both and reseat them. Thanks :smashin:
     
  7. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    I really doubt that. The processor fits in extrememly securely, not to mention its under a fan and a heatsink. You don't just accidentally knock the cpu out of its socket and if by any chance you did you'd notice the effects in more than just gaming.
     
  8. reaper12

    reaper12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +119
    I do computer repairs, I have seen everything!! Believe me. The only reason He notices it in games is that games stress a system, and if the Fan isn't sitting right, or something isn't seated right then that's when the problems appear. I never said He knocked the CPU out of it's socket, the computer wouldn't start at all if He done that. I just said He might have knocked tsomething a little loose, meaning the fan. Pbryanw understood me.

    It only happened after He switched the card out, so that would be my first thing to do, reseat the CPU and fan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...