Graphics card advice needed

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Roy37, Jun 14, 2015.

  1. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Need a new graphics card as my NVIDIA GeForce GTX460 appears to have packed up as my computer crashed saying there was a driver issue, went to black screen and crashed. Device manager now says "windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)". I've tried updating drivers but no success.

    I need to get a new one asap as my screen resolution was 1920x1200 but now the max I can choose is 1600x1200 which is just hopeless.

    Can someone recommend a decent graphics card that won't break the bank? I don't do games, but I do use photoshop and watch a lot of films/tv, I like my screen resolution 1920x1200. Given that this card is only a few years old I'd be reluctant to have the same make again, I'd prefer a more reliable make.
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +12,060
    What make is the one that you currently have? What's the spec of the rest of your PC?

    Have you completely removed the graphics drivers and reinstalled?
     
  3. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,548
    Both frequently don't use the graphics card to any significant degree so the first thing I'd try is taking it out and using the onboard graphics that almost all PCs contemporary with a GTX 460 will have.

    You might want to specify what make the card is then.
     
  4. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry, I just assumed that NVIDIA was the make, that's all it says is NVIDIA GeForce GTX460. How do I find out the make?

    PC details are:

    Windows 7 Home Edition 64-bit
    Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07 GHz
    Installed Memory (RAM): 12.0 GB
    4 Hard drives (a very small 60GB SSD for the Operating system and main programs, and 3 x 3TB drives), all showing red as they're full up.

    No I didn't completely remove the drivers, I just updated them. I will try removing completely and see how I go.
     
  5. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +12,060
    Either open the case and have a look or probably easier is to download a free program called GPU-Z and it will tell you there.
     
  6. paulktreg

    paulktreg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Clitheroe
    Ratings:
    +131
    You say your hard drives are full! How full especially the SSD? You need a certain amount of free space for your Windows and games to run correctly.
     
  7. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    The SSD has 3.12GB free
     
  8. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just opened the case (wow! there was a lot of dust in there to hoover up), and it says PALiT on the graphics card so I'm guessing that's the make??
     
  9. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Would've tried a system restore but for some strange reason all my restore points have disappeared.
     
  10. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,548
    Yeah, Palit are the card manufacturer.
     
  11. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can't take it out as there will be nowhere to connect my monitor to, the monitor connects to the graphics card and there is no other connection for it unfortunately.
     
  12. Roy37

    Roy37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tried several times to do this but I don't think it's all getting removed, and when I try to install I get "Access Denied".
     
  13. n00bftw

    n00bftw
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    north west england
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. scythefwd

    scythefwd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +13
    Not to be insulting, but are you running the install as an admin? If you check the security log in event viewer, are you seeing any notifications in there that raise suspicion?
     

Share This Page

Loading...