graphic card problem

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by rockyclown, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. rockyclown

    rockyclown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    wondered if any body could help.just fitted nvidia gt520 graphics card to my h61 motherboard with i7 2600 intel processor,all ok however the fan on the motherboard/processor doesnt run and overheats,when i removed the graphics card the fan runs fine again, cant understand why the card would disable the fan,is there something im missins?thanks for any help
     
  2. JDCFH

    JDCFH
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +588
    Maybe your psu isn't up to the job of running the card thus why your fan stops when it's installed?
     
  3. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    520 card probably doesn't need a separate connector so it should be fine. Check your connections and if the 520 requires a separate power connector?
     
  4. rockyclown

    rockyclown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow jdcfh
    think you nailed it,had my pc built locally,for a very reasonable price considering the specs,obviously the savings were on things like the psu,found an online power calulator and my psu at 120watts is nowhere near powerfull enought,miss chief thanks for your post,your correct :clap:the gt520 doesnt need a seperate power lead,many thanks
     
  5. JDCFH

    JDCFH
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +588
    No problem mate - never scrimp on your psu.
     
  6. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,492
    120W? Generally that capacity is reserved for specialist mini PCs, many of which won't even have a slot for a card. If he was going to scrimp on the PSU chances are the rating would be 300-500W as they're the cheapest because they're produced in far bigger numbers.

    Are you sure you're not just reading the capacity on the 3.3V/5V line or something?
     
  7. rockyclown

    rockyclown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    endless waves,just re checked yes your right that is the low voltage output,it is a 450 watt,so that should be strong enought and not cause the fan not running problem?ive spent hours on google and have never seen mention of this before and at a bit of a loss unless 450w is not enough for the dvd drive, processor and graphic card to run together,but if so why just effect the fan?thanks for any suggestions
     
  8. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,492
    I think a single low power component not running at all is unlikely to be caused by a power supply issue, you'd either expect it only to stop running at higher loads or, more likely, the system to become slightly unstable generally.

    I'd check the manual for the motherboard to see if that had any mention of this behavior and if not send an e-mail to the motherboard manufacturer and ask them what's happening as just the single fan turning off with no other symptoms does sound like it might be intended behavior for something.
     
  9. rockyclown

    rockyclown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your help everyone,i got an email from the card manufactuare this morning,they said not compatable probably and to update BIOS,im going to change the card anyway to an upgrade,so could anybody suggest a card for 100 to 150 pounds thats they now works with asrock h61 motherboard.many thanks again
     
  10. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,228
    'probably' and 'bios' are not not very helpful comments from them. The card being faulty is more likely - in fact I cant think of a single reason (without making something implausable up) why the bios has anything to do with the GPU.

    Did you have this card in your system already and suddently things dont work, or is it an upgrade as such that you have done yourself?
     
  11. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    this.^
     
  12. jellofund

    jellofund
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,282
    As Theydon suggested in your other thread a 560ti would be a very good card if you have a budget of around £150. Although I think the HD7850 in the classifieds (£160?) is well worth considering too but it depends how flexible your budget is and if you're happy to buy privately rather than from a retailer.

    I'm sure someone here will be able to confirm for definite but I have some doubts that your 450w PSU would be capable of powering either card, especially if it is more of a budget brand (wattage is only one part of the equation). At a guess a good quality 550-600w PSU might be more realistic.

    I guess the first thing to establish would be whether or not you are comfortable adding some cash to the pot for a new PSU if required and if you're comfortable with the idea of fitting one yourself (not too difficult and plenty of guides on youtube etc.). If you're not too keen on replacing the PSU then it'll likely mean opting for a somewhat less capable graphics card but I have no doubts the guys will still be able to recommend something that fits your requirements :)

    ps. might also be worth adding a note of the make / model no. of your PSU.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  13. rockyclown

    rockyclown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    been overwelmed by all the help with this problem,ive decided what to do now,return the 520 card for full refund as i only bought it 7 days ago ,i called the shop who built my pc for me 2 months ago so under guarantee and they have a 560ti that they will fit,so if any problems still and a motherboard fault they will have to sort(i havnt told them about me fitting the 520 and fan fault)and if psu is found to be the problem i will get them to upgrade it,so although it may cost me a bit at least it will get sorted,many thanks again
     
  14. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,228
    No worries let us know how you get on!
     
  15. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,835
    If it is the PSU causing the problem then a 560ti will most probably make it a lot worst
     
  16. jassco

    jassco
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,018
    With it being under warranty its better to find out sooner rather than later, and best way is to strain the system a bit :)
     
  17. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,835
    Of course
    But the OP wants this resolved, so adding a beefier card is not going to help
     
  18. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,365
    If the system was put together by a shop which you have paid for, surely you can just hand it back to them to fix.
    Just to clarify, did you actually add the card or was that put in by the shop? It sounds like a faulty m/b as no gpu should stop a fan!
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2012
  19. jellofund

    jellofund
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,282
    OP added the card himself after it was built (mentioned in post #13).
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2012
  20. Clunk

    Clunk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +446
    Just a random thought on this. Is the CPU fan connected to a SYS fan header by any chance?
     
  21. rockyclown

    rockyclown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks again for the help.its been resolved now thanks.took to the shop that built it a few weeks ago they fitted a bigger psu and a 560ti which needed its own power supply rather than the 520 that caused the problem which just slotted in with no other cabling,so what the cause was is still a mystery but working great now,many thanks again
     
  22. jellofund

    jellofund
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,282
    Good news - enjoy the new card :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice