Graphic card broken?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by zedzed, May 2, 2007.

  1. zedzed

    zedzed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi all,

    I've had my x1950 Pro for 3 months now (self-built PC). It seems to have developed a problem - see screenshot. I can only assume it's overheating (when playing games). Anyone else seen anything like this before?

    Dez
     

    Attached Files:

  2. booyaka

    booyaka
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,584
    what temps is it reaching?
    is it overclocked?
    also are you running the lastest software drivers?
    Has this problem just started?
    is it just the one game or the same in all other games?
     
  3. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    14,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +3,761
    Should have a temp control monitor in the Graphics Card Settings.

    When this happens save/exit and check temps and to save time have the temp window open before you start the game.

    If you do not have a temp status in the settings download a program called Rivatuner that can be tricky to understand at first but it has a temp monitor that refreshes at intervals so you can see temps.

    Also if the card is overheating a bit you should be able to increase the fan speed on your gfx card because I know on mine the default fan speed is at 41% :eek:
     
  4. zedzed

    zedzed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks for the feedback guys.

    I'll check tonight re:temps.

    Yes running latest drivers
    No not overclocked
    Yes just started happening,
    and yes happening on all games :(
     
  5. zedzed

    zedzed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Idle temp is 37C

    The problem seems to occur when temps go above 60C - which I thought would be fine. The temp "sensometer" in the "catalyst control centre" isn't even half way round - i.e. it's a light orange and isn't near red.

    I'm playing Lord of the rings online - the first real "modern" game I've played on the PC - so I do think i might have a duff card now - it's never really been tested. (guess I should have ran bechmarking programs when i got it!).

    Purchased the card from overclockers - still have the box etc. - what's the chances of an RMA going well? (it's made by connect3D - so I think OC will deal with the problem rather than directing me to manufacturer. I hope!)

    Dez
     
  6. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    well, firstly try reseating the card.....never hurts to give it a go...

    then make sure its getting enough power....if your PSU isnt up to the job this can cause problems....

    also make sure there is decent airflow in the case and something not blocking the exhaust.....

    if still going loopy, then send it back :)

    my 6800GTO i have in a Dell PC would get sparklies when i tried to run it too hard ramped up to Ultra speeds (it was actually an Ultra with the pipes disabled and clocks slowed down, Dell forgot to properly cut the pipes...heh).....it was ok most of the time, but when i really shot up the options in HL2 and played for a good 6 hours i'd get the sparklies and have to ramp down the speeds :( but you say you didnt overclock this so it should have no problems...
     
  7. zedzed

    zedzed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Re-seating it didn't fix it.

    Not sure how to test the power to the card - I've a 430W PSU driving motherboard, 2 hard disks, 1 DVD Writer and GFX card - so I think it should be enough.

    Re: exaust - only running one large fan at the back of the PC - but I don't think temps are the problems - it starts to fair at 60c - from what I've read that's not hot for a GFX card running 3D games.

    Ah well ... back to OCers it goes I think. *sigh*

    Dez
     

Share This Page

Loading...