1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grainy Picture?!?!?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by punka75, Jan 29, 2004.

  1. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone, :hiya:

    I have just bought A Thor S-Video-Scart cable to improve my TV's picture quality. It seems to of made the picture a little more sharper, but the picture is also quite grainy!
    I've tried to change the picture settings. If I turn the brightness & contrast down low the "grainy-ness" nearly goes away, but the problem with that is it's to dark to watch!

    I've got A Pioneer DCS-303 and A Goodmans 28" Widescreen TV.

    Do you think its A faulty cable or is it my TV?

    Any suggestions please.

    Thanks.
    Mike Ross.
     
  2. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well,
    What A nice welcome to the forum :(

    Surely someone out there can help!
    :) :p
     
  3. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    Is it grainy on Scart only or on off air channels.??
     
  4. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya:

    It's grainy/pixely on the s-video-scart lead.
    The other cannels seem OK!

    :smashin:
     
  5. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    When you say that you are using a S/Video scart lead, do you mean it has a 21 pin scart on one end and a 4pin S Video plug on the other ??

    :rolleyes:

    What model is the Goodmans ???
     
  6. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :smashin:
    Yes, 21 pin scart on one end and a 4pin S Video plug on the other.

    Don't know what model my tv is?!
    It's 28" Widescreen about 3 years old!
     
  7. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    look on the back of the TV set it will say the model number on there
     
  8. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Goodmans W288NS is the model of my TV :blush:

    Thank you for persevering with me :smashin:

    Cheers.
     
  9. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    Right.. a bit of info for you..

    I had a chat with a engineer I know and these dont have any listed problems with grain in the picture. These sets are quite good, with a freq resonse of 5.8 Mhz.

    Is it grain that you are seeing, or are they more of pixel blocks caused by the MPEG codeing?

    DVD isnt perfect... far from it !!

    Do you get the same effect if you use RGB ??
     
  10. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi
    I think it is more pixel blocks but very small pixel blocks!

    When playing A DVD the Menus are clean and look good, it's when I play the film, thats when I can notice the pixels.

    My DVD player hasn't got RGB output! When I used the scart to scart lead that came with the DVD player it was OK.

    :smashin:
     
  11. Delius

    Delius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have a feeling that the resolution which the S-video lead is providing is showing up DVD artifacts.

    I notice this on my DVD esp if using the component outputs.

    The lesser quality composite video , which the scart lead uses will be masking these.

    Hope this helps..
     
  12. punka75

    punka75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Delius

    Thank you very much for all your advice :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...