1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

got the hidef screen now where's the films?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by stuartam_81, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, after much looking round i finally have a panny hidef plasma, and had connected it to a htpc.

    i am currently downloading the hidef demos from the m$ site but when / where can i start buying hidef films on DVD?

    when will we start seeing blu-ray or hddvd players for the PC and the movies disks?

    so many questions, so little time....

    best regards

    stuart moore
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    There are a quite a few genuine High Def movies on DVD (uses the MS codec) which require a PC solution or a very rare player which supports wmv. To be honest that format is just a stop gap and marketing strategy in an attempt to corner part of the upcoming HD market. You can import a DVHS machine and while content isn't abundant it is a viable solution for those are desperate for HD.

    WMV related thread

    HD-DVD is still expected to debut this xmas although the price will be very high for the initial player and content will probably upto £10 more expensive than the equivalent DVD version. Not sure if there will be a global launch or like DVD the UK will end up being 12-24 months behind the times. Blu-ray is expected sometime mid 2006, nothing firmer than that really.
     
  3. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the reply, i think i might hold off buying a lot of HiDef dvd's untill HD-DVD is released at Xmas.

    best regards

    stuart moore
     
  4. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +625
    not 100% but hd-dvd maybe pushed back till spring 2006 :(
     
  5. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,422
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +107
    May have been lucky but got a brand new boxed JVC 3000 for £250. I order my films from DVDBoxoffice at £17-19 a pop. The quality is stunning, imagine the hi def clips you download from the web but more punchy, far smoother, full length & with lossless digital sound !

    :thumbsup:
     
  6. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
  7. leeboy2k3

    leeboy2k3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    walsall
    Ratings:
    +6
    Or newsbin is your friend for hd movies till the retails anyway. :smashin:
     
  8. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    what plasma was it you got?
     
  9. Mark1Ace1

    Mark1Ace1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm fortunate enough to live where we have quite a few hours of HD a week on TV. Can't wait for the next gen of DVD players to come out. Then again, can't wait for the next gen of TV's that have 1080p to come out..:)

    Mark
     
  10. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive got an panny pv500 :D

    thanks for all the replys guys
     
  11. locky79

    locky79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    anyone tried running HD material via xbox media center? and if anyone knows more about XBMC please message little me :( i got version 2.4 and i havent a clue how to upgrade it :(

    Boo hooo!!

    hullo sir Razor :hiya:
     
  12. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    Locky :hiya:

    I think you can do divx HD. I dont think WMV HD will work smoothly but I could be wrong on both acounts :suicide:

    :D
     
  13. Stuart McLean

    Stuart McLean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are spot on Razor, because of the Xbox's paltry 733Mhz Celeron it will not decode HD-WMV with any great success. However as you say Divx HD can be done dependant on the bitrate, a mid-range CBR works best.
    I have tried a few (well ok all) of the clips from Divx.com on the Xbox and the do look pretty damn good even if they stutter a little on occasion.

    locky79, Upgrading Media Center is a straightforward process, obtain the latest release (better not say where) and overwrite the existing XBMC folder contents with the new ones, assuming of course that you have a standard installation and have not put anything else in the XBMC folder. Make a backup of your old folder first if you are unsure or in case anything goes wrong.
     
  14. Andy Leitch

    Andy Leitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    None of your business
    Ratings:
    +60
    Absolutely.....my 2Mb connection has been maxed out for the past 3 months.

    Can't get enough HD. \0/ \0/ :thumbsup:
     
  15. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    :hiya:
    Cheers for confirming Stuart :thumbsup:
     
  16. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +412
    Has anyone thought of getting a CPU upgrade from friendtech for their XBox/XBMC combo to run HD. I was a bit worried about sending my XBox out to the States but apart from this my Xbox & XBMC is the best bit of kit I have ever bought....especially running 720p into my Panasonic 700 on a 92" screen, just the interface and Project Mayhem III skin look the business. It really was the best £150 I have spent.
     
  17. zag2me

    zag2me
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    :thumbsup: To those who know ;) it aint so hard.
     
  18. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    I have NTL connection and I can't seem to work out how to use a news group? If anyone can give me some pointers I would be gratefull. :lease:
     
  19. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +412
    Join a newsgroup provider like usenetserver or newshosting - about £7 a month (you could try the ntl newsgroups but it's unlikely they will hold the binary groups or have a good retention period). Use an indexing service like newsbin to download .nzb files - £1 a month. Use Newsleecher to load the .nzb file and download the file automatically. Voila.
     
  20. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    Grumble, grumble, stupid BT and their stupid caps, grumble can't wait to move out of my parents house...grumble grumble...get my own ADSL :)
     
  21. locky79

    locky79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    lol my xbox died 2 days ago :( it flash's green and red and doesnt boot up at all :(

    i was messing around with the resolution settings in XBMP and when i turned it off and left it for a few hours i tried again and PoOF flashy lights :(

    ive been tempted to buy a new pc but i shouldnt... temptation is too great with BF2 and all these lovely games coming out. you guys should check out the trailer for enemy terroritry: quake wars!

    :hiya:
     
  22. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    Locky :hiya:

    Sorry to hear your xbox has died. It didnt over heat did it? BTW I got Battlefied 2 yesterday, I haven't played it yet but I will let you know if it's any good. :D
     
  23. Stuart McLean

    Stuart McLean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it would be pretty unusual for a FRAG to be caused by XBMP/XBMC (unless its your dashboard and has become corrupted - can you boot with modchip disabled?), these are usually hardware/bios related.
    It would probably be worth your while having a look through the threads on http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php answers to most Xbox modding issues can be found there.
     
  24. Andy Leitch

    Andy Leitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    None of your business
    Ratings:
    +60
    http://docs.newzbin.com/UsenetTutorials ....should help you on your way. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...