Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Got problems with SKY 'breakup'? Try this fix.

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Jona, Mar 20, 2003.

  1. Jona

    Jona
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    FIX FOR SOME SKY 'BREAKUP'/'BLOCKINESS' PROBLEMS
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    I have had a PACE digibox for some years now, but recently the picture and sound have been breaking up on certain channels (I suspected it was those with lower bit-rates). This has been driving me mad, but I was not willing to spend a lot of money on getting a SKY engineer round to fix it for only a few of the channels.

    I was tempted to: -
    (1) Try adjusting the dish myself (I decided against this fortunately).:suicide:
    or
    (2) See if a second-hand SKY box might help (as mine is quite old now).

    HOWEVER, my ten year old son eventually came up with the answer! He had been chatting with one of his mates who's dad had experienced a similar problem. In their case, they moved their DECT phone base unit away from the SKY box (it was previously sitting on a side table next to it). Apparently this fixed the problem.

    I thought this seemed a bit too good to be true, but I checked our Phillips DECT phone and sure enough it was situated within a few inches of our SKY box. I moved it a few feet away and BINGO, the problem went away!

    Sorry if this has ever been mentioned before (I'm a newbie), but I thought it might save people a shed load of money knowing this.:clap:

    Regards,
    Jonathan.
     
  2. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    7,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +1,134
    got a neighbour with a sky+ box that keeps blocking/freezing etc - he's had them out to it a few times with the box being changed for a new one etc. I will be round tomorrow to check for a DECT phone nearby - thanks for the tip
     
  3. Jona

    Jona
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you liked the tip. I'm guessing it'll only turn out to be the cause in a handful of cases, but you never know ! :)

    I wonder if SKY mention this as a possibility when people call them to report a fault, before offering them the more costly option of a site visit.:devil:
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +795
    whenever our sky picture breaks up I can guarantee that there is a taxi sitting down our street.

    surely you would have thought that they would have tested it with all the other types of signal floating around :rolleyes:

    had to ask a driver to turn his radio off the otherday as I was watching the last 5 mins off the leicester match, he looked at me as if i was some kind of ****
     
  5. Jona

    Jona
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gizlaroc - Looks like it's time to switch to cable!:suicide:
     
  6. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you should check that your cable is double-shielded.
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +795
    I have changed the cable but still the same.

    then when we had sky+ installed I thought the new lnb may help but it didn't.

    luckily we hardly ever get taxi's down our street so its not a real problem, but it is always on the odd accassion that I actually want to watch somthing :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice