1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got my Samsung SP50L7HX today and I'm not happy

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Strideristhebes, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only ask before my jap dreamcast keeps jumping, and my pal modded xbox does the same. I also thought I could use my VGA capable to link my Dreamcast up but that doesn't seem to work either.

    It plays NTSC dvds fine though so I'm a little confused...
     
  2. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been playing around with this all day and it's nowhere near as good as I was expecting. I play a lot of games, and so far I've had no success.

    The first thing I tried was the Xbox and when it's in 480 or 720 the screen constantly jumps and is extremely off putting. I then stuck my Japanese Dreamcast into it via the vga box and a picture doesn't even come up. I also tried it via RGB and the picture jumps...

    The thing is I have a switched jap gamecube and that's fine. so I'm guessing that the DC is simply incompatible.

    My DVD is also far from perfect at the moment, but I'm hoping that's down to the fact that the machine itself is on its way out.


    So far I've not been impressed at all :(
     
  3. KableMan

    KableMan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +87
    I use my XBOX outputting NTSC at 480p, 720p and 1080i via component and I've had no "jumping" problems and over 80% of my DVD collection is NTSC Region 1 and again I haven't had any problems with it via HDMI. I've not tried VGA but I have connected the PC at 60Hz with no problems.

    It sounds like either your dreamcast and xbox have a common problem which would be quite a coincidence or there's a problem with you TV... :(
     
  4. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It shows that the pc slot is being used, but it just says no signal on the screen

    I wouldn't mind if the DC was fine in rgb but that moves to the left and right every now and then. I don't understand it as my Jap Gamecube via rgb is absolutely great.

    I've ordered some official cables (my xbox ones cost me £5) for £30 via courier, as some people seem to think that the official ones are the best. I've also got a Gamecube component lead on the way. Guess I'll find out for definate in the next few days...
     
  5. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got my new samsung to day, but it doesn't seem to play anything before the current generation of consoles. I get a jumpy picture via RGB for my Dreamcast, lots of jerking on my japanese saturn, and jerking on psx games when played on my ps2, the jerking is also evident on my jap n64.

    I don't know if this is a one off problem with my tv or if this is standard for all dlps.

    I'm hoping it's the former, because if this is a general problem with older consoles, I've got a very, very tough decision to make...
     
  6. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,547
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,504
    I take it your inputing a 60hz feed? :)
     
  7. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the samsung 50 hertz then?
     
  8. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,547
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,504
    Shouldnt be. Should do both. :)
     
  9. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +222
    I don't know if this is relevent, but my U.S Dreamcast has stopped outputting RGB on ANY TV for a while now. It's fine with S-video though.
    Liksang sell DC leads & stuff if you're interested. (you probably know that).
     
  10. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    It sounds like you may have a faulty set, I've experienced none of these issues :(
     
  11. Br41ns

    Br41ns
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +31
    :hiya:

    definitely sounds like a problem with the tv or set up, the SP50 seems to not care whats thrown at it and always gives me an excellent pic. :smashin:
     
  12. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    have you actually run older consoles on it though? It just doesn't make sense that it can play some stuff, yet can't run others under the same inputs...
     
  13. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Can't say I've tried a Dreamcast but XBOX using HD and SD no problem, PS2 no problem, gamecude no problem.
     
  14. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I've just got some offcial leads from work, switched all the settings to 480 720, etc. Then activated high def mode my pressing l and r triggers and clic king in the thumbstics, it's still jumping on the menu screen :(
    Guess this needs to go back...
     
  15. the_pauley

    the_pauley
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +198
    Contact the Samsung techies helpline first. They're very helpful.
     
  16. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    Jumping??? is the xbox menu screen moving around or is the whole screen jumping? As the menu does move about alot now.
     
  17. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nah I know the menu moves around :)

    it's more like stuttering. The fact that none of my ntsc consoles seems to work suggests that maybe the tv isn't converting a 60 hertz signal properlly.

    I went into the service menu and reset the TV, but that didn't do anything, I didn't touch anything else though.
     
  18. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right then, I phoned Samsung service engineer (that is handily based in bournemouth) and they iimediately put me through to Samsung. As soon as I explained the problems to her, she thinks it's a geomtry issue.

    However, she did say that I should try switching the TV to NTSC first (although she doesn't think this will make a difference). Sadly, I'm at work so need to rely on my technically incompetant wife. Does anyone know where I need to go on the money to switch the tv from Pal to NTSC?
     
  19. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've spoken to samsung about my sp50 problems and they think it could be a geometry issue. however, they want me to switch the tv from pal to ntsc first to see if that makes a diffrence. can anyone tell me how to do this from the remote as I'm at work and my wife is stupid ;)
     
  20. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    The TV automatically switches. Press the INFO button to see what format it has detected.
     
  21. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that would be the case.

    Anyway, the TV is now being picked up early next week and engineers will attempt to fix the problem. Apparently quite a few people have complained about my TV's symptons recently, so they're confident it can be fixed.

    I asked about sending the tv back for a replacement but Dixons won't accept it unless it's unfixable. It's a pain in the arse, but life is to short, so I'll simply wait for its return and dream of playing Outrun 2 in 480 :clap:
     
  22. the_pauley

    the_pauley
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +198
    Dixons. Part of the DSG group that owns PC World and Currys, and you'll find another current thread on here with someone with exactly the same reply from Currys.

    These stores are notorious for this tactic.

    It's simple - if your set is faulty you are entiled to a full refund or a replacement. Your choice - not theirs. If they refuse and try and fob you off with a repair they are breaking the law.

    Contact your local Trading Standards Office. I'll put money on it that they've had similar complaints about DSG Group stores before. Watch Dixons jump when they call.

    This link may be of interest to you.
     
  23. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I've seen that thread, and I think I made a comment about never having any problems with them in the past... DOH!!!

    I'll give them a phone tomorrow I think. If the deliver the new TV on the same day, that it makes sense for me to chase up on them.
     
  24. the_pauley

    the_pauley
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +198
    The above thread that I mentioned to you where the guy was having the same problem you were, with Currys refusing a replacement?

    Check it out - happy ending within the past few hours! :clap:

    Go get Dixons mate!
     
  25. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The latest part in this sorry chapter of woe and misery goes thus...

    I spoke to Dixons this morning and got in touch with a very helpful staff member who basically said that they will send an engineer out on Monday. The engineer is not going to attempt to fix the tv in any way, he's just coming out to see if it is suffering from the symptons I have described. If it is I'm getting a replacement TV.

    Obviously my one concern is that he's going to turn around and say that there's nothing wrong with my TV, it's just not compatible with NTSC games machines. The Pauley is convinced that it's compatible with both PAL and NTSC signals (which stands to reason becasue my Jap Cube and Region 1 dvd's work on it).

    Fingers crossed that they don't try and fob me off...
     
  26. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,974
    Check the manual/specs/adverts. If any of these includes mention of NTSC as a compatible source, and it misbehaves when driven with an NTSC source, then it isn't working to specification. Be armed with the relevant page in the book (or whatever) when the techy calls.
     
  27. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, I've had a look on Samsung's website and they have this under system

    NTSC 4.43
    VIT (NTSC playback by Scart)

    I'm a bit concerned now as it doesn't mention anything about the component and VGA being NTSC compatible. Maybe there's nothing wrong at all with the TV and I've just bought the wrong one :confused:
     
  28. the_pauley

    the_pauley
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +198
    It's all NTSC compatible mate. Have you contacted Samsung's helpline as I suggested?

    If you can be armed with a statement from them that it is faulty, then Dixons can hardly quibble with that (but they'll try no doubt).
     
  29. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Samsung engineer is coming around to look at my tv today (it had really bad juddering when you switch it to 480 and 720) but it now appears to have stopped on my main Xbox.

    It's still there on my chipped machine, so I'm wondering if ones of the xboxs was faulty...
     
  30. Strideristhebes

    Strideristhebes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just spoke to the engineer and he's a bloody idiot.

    He asked me how the Xbox was connected via the TV and I said component. He then asked me if I should be able to get a high definition picture through a component lead and that was more than likely what the problem was.

    He also said, 'well I'll get you a new tv sorted, but I still reckon it's going to do exactly the same thing...'

    Still, at least a new tv should be on the way soon...
    edit - new tv turns up Saturday :thumbsup:

    Let's hope this one is ok...
     

Share This Page

Loading...