1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got My New Pio 43MXE-1 S Today

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Vinesh, Jun 27, 2004.

  1. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    As the title says.

    PQ - Amazing through the Lumagen Vision.

    The Lumagen makes hell of a difference. I first tried the Sky +/DVD without the scaler, PQ was OK with Sky.

    Then the scaler was plugged. This made the colours, skin tone more life like. Running the scaler at 49.94 and 768p.

    Thank you for the top notch customer service Joe. :thumbsup:

    Anyone looking to buy any HT kit, see Joe first!!
     
  2. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,203
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +289
    Vinesh,

    I saw your plasma in the back of the van 8AM this morning,because mine was the first drop off :)

    All the problems i've had with the Hitachi PMA400E & Fujitsu P42HHS30ES have all disappeared,i will never buy another ALIS screen again :thumbsdow

    My new Pioneer MXE1-S PQ is Amazing!!

    people always talk about the 3D effect,well for the first time i have actually seen it on the pioneer :clap:


    fantastic customer service Joe :thumbsup:

    DVD
     
  3. VT 4 CCTV

    VT 4 CCTV
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Vinesh and DVD,
    Can you tell me how you two came to choose the MXE version over the latest plasma offerings. I am looking for a plasma, but was surprised that not many retailers sell this item.
    Theres obviously something good that made you choose this particular model over others???
    would be pleased to hear your comments.

    chheeers
    vt 4 cctv
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    vt 4 cctb

    The MXE1-S is the latest screen from Pioneer and is classed as a business (professional) unit hence the likely reason why you will not generally see it in retailers.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,004
    Not only that the MXE range has just been updated and these guys are getting the first ones in the country. Even dealers are unlikely to have demo models for more than a week or two. The previous MXE's were well respected but when the new HDE model Pioneers came out and folk knew the new range were imminent I think sales and talk of the current ones stopped.

    G
     
  6. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +224
    Sorry... what is the difference (in performance and flexibility) between the MXE and HDE Pioneer plasmas? I am after a 50 inch plasma and would really appreciate your comments. Thanks.

    M.J.
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    If you try the search function for "Pioneer HDE MXE" or more specifically "Mxe v Hde" you will find loads of threads which have discussed this to death already :)

    Here's one thread to start you off.
     
  8. steverb

    steverb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Vinesh - Sounds like what I am looking for. How much are we talking about for the screen and the processor, to give me some idea. How do I contact Joe.
     
  9. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,004
  11. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +128
    How does the PQ compare to Pioneers current crop of consumer screens, blacks etc.
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,004
    As has been stated in other threads it's the same glass in the MX range so black level is the same. Overall I'd say the pic quality MX and external processing is MUCH better than HDE.

    Gordon
     
  13. suzywong

    suzywong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    So can one replace the HDE media box with something better?
     
  14. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,004
  15. Prodigal

    Prodigal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As the MXE model is hard to get here ( I'm living in Hong Kong ), therefore I don't think I can get any sound support even it is possible for me to specially order one from the shop, although one or two sales guys did hear about it, but their knowledge on MXE model is no way close to you guys .

    I probably will go for 434HDG (which is most likely same as HDE model I suppose) in a couple of weeks, do you guys think I can get the pic quality close to MXE model if I go for HDMI connection, becasue I did watch the HDMI demo before, and I even once thought that was a 1080i demo, the result was stunning...Having said, the pic did have some grainy look if fed with component signal, perhaps I'd better go for a 434HDG and get a HDMI DVD player such as Pioneer 868 for having close pic quality to MXE.

    Unfortunately we don't have any digital or HD broadcasting here, so I will use it mainly for DVD viewing.

    Any advice is appreciated.

    P.S. 90% of the DVD available here is NTSC.
     
  16. suzywong

    suzywong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the interface between the media box and the screen? There are two cables, one with a white plug and one with a black plug. I presume one is for video (and audio? query because I don't have speakers on the screen) signals and one is for control signals?
     
  17. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Sorry for the delay in replying, been busy ;)


    DVD,

    I got my screen at 11am, but didn't get round installing til 3pm. I had to go a wedding!! I was itching to leave asap!

    The 3D is effect is good. We have made the right choice. :smashin:


    steverb,

    For the best prices is best to speak to Joe.




    As qouted by Messaih and Gordon I wanted the latest screen and future proof.
     
  18. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    26,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,030
    Susywong

    The Two part 'umbilical cable' as supplied as part of your HDE PlasmaTV is pretty much un charted territory.

    Pioneer don't give out the wiring config and if you chop into the cable its not colour coded either.

    The half of the twin cable that looks like a standard DVI cable has non standard wiring and if you install a different DVI cable between the Media Box and the Screen your screen will shut down in about ten seconds.

    We've tried running a Lumagen VisionHDP between the Media Box and the Screen using DVI cables and it wont work - as above it simply shuts down.

    I do know a man who chopped up a DVI cable plus a Pioneer umbilical cable and through trial and error found a way to jumper the 'command' signal that the screen is looking for - now if you want to go down that route possibly you could think about introducing an external processor; though you could damage your screen or media box in the process!

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...