got my new lens

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by beachy, Aug 3, 2006.

1. beachy

beachy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +62
    i ordered the nikon 50mm F/1.8 D AF lens from www.waltersphotovideo.co.uk on tuesday at 11.00am and it arrived yesterday at 9.00am, i was very impressed with there fast turnaround so will definately be using them again.

so had a little play with it yesterday and was well impressed, i'm no expert on lense,s (all very new to me) but for the price £99.99 it seems great,so now i've got the lens for portraits what do you guys recommend for for landscapes and macro shots etc,for about £150-£200 budget for each, i took a look at the sigma 70mm-300mm F/4-5.6 APO macro lens at my local jessops yesterday, but it was faulty and it was the only one they had in stock (the zoom was quite stiff and the macro switch would'ent change over) so what else should i be looking for ? also i hav'ent got a clue about filters and what they actually do eithier, so again what should i be looking at.

all feedback as always greatly appreciated. :thumbsup:

2. beachy

beachy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +62
    any feedback guys or is my budget to low ??

3. midtones

midtones

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    £200 is enough, that Sigma should be fine. Which Jessops did you go to?

I would avoid the CMK one and head out to the larger store at Eldergate. Couple of the managers there are quite clued, they even use cameras!

Zoom rings are quite stiff on Sigmas, takes a bit of use to loosen them up that is no problem. The switches should not be so stiff tho.

K.

4. beachy

beachy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +62