Goodmans GHDD1782 vs Humax PVR-8000T

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by sambobo, Aug 15, 2005.

Tags:
  1. sambobo

    sambobo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi guys, i'm looking to get an afordable (around the £120 mark) freeview/PVR box and it seems ive got two options.

    The Humax PVR-8000T (80gig version) or the new Goodmans GHDD1782 (available from argos, see link below)
    http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Search?storeId=10001&catalogId=3801&langId=-1&searchTerms=5320606

    now the humax has the bonus of having 2 tuners were as the goodmans seems to only have one, however i understand that many people on this forum have had problems with the humax so should i be better going for the goodmans?

    thanks

    sam
     
  2. russellelly

    russellelly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Both machines only have one tuner. The Humax is generally regarded quite well, the Goodmans hasn't yet had many reports on it, so it's impossible to say yet.

    (OT - can anyone else only see 2 topics on the PVRs/VCRs page, I can't even go to another page :confused: )
     
  3. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,186
    scroll to the bottom of the page and chage view threads from the last day to the last year.
     
  4. ad47uk

    ad47uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    After using a Goodmans DVd recorder, I would not touch Goodmans again. The Humax is a better choice.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,672
    Me, too. I've raised it with Stuart Wright.
     
  6. sambobo

    sambobo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    so keeping on topic here, are goodmans dvd recorders pretty crap then? i thought there have been loads of problems with the humax?
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,672
    The Humax is probably the most reliable box out there. It's also the most simple/basic, which may be an explanation.

    If you want a twin tuner offering, then I gather (not from personal experience) the Fusion PVRT200 is reliable.
     
  8. sambobo

    sambobo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    how about the Sagem PVR6240T, its only £130 from argos and its got 2 tuners (but only 40gig).

    has anyone got one of these?
     
  9. pcusack

    pcusack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    If i only knew.....
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Humax and can't fault it if you ignore little niggles.

    Reliable. easy to use and the best bit....

    My missus loves it.

    It's bneen in with the old telly recently as we got a Panny plasma with freeview built in.

    She asked if I could bring it to the new telly last night as she misses the 1hr RAM recording on the humax.
     
  10. Fatman

    Fatman
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've no experience of the Goodmans, but I've had the Humax for the last 12 months or so. No major problems to report once the current firmware is installed. I'd recommend it. Easy to use.
     
  11. sambobo

    sambobo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    im sure this is covered in another thread, but how do you update the firmware if theres no disk drive? do you have to link it to pc some how?
     
  12. Fatman

    Fatman
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firmware is broadcast over the air. I think the default setting on the device is for new code to be downloaded when it's available (i.e. auto-checking) but there's a menu setting to control this. Once downloaded, the machine asks upon it's next boot-up whether you'd like to install the new code.
     
  13. Fatman

    Fatman
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...forgot to say that, yes, you can link it to the PC via the serial port if you really want to. Firmware is available from Humax's website, but you'll have to sort your own cable because there isn't one provided with the unit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...