• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.
  • Black Friday Deals
    Visit our Black Friday page for our frequently updated, hand picked deals on TVs and other tech.

Goodmans GHDD177DVDR - Rolling picture on TV while recording? Help?!!

K

konfused!

Hi everyone, I am a real beginner so please be patient with me! :)

I have bought a Goodmans DVD recorder which I have managed to set up with my TV and VCR. Only problem is when the dvdr is recording I can't watch a different channel on the tv!! kind of defeats the point of having one. :mad:

I will try to explain my setup:-

Ariel from tv to vcr
RF Coaxial lead from vcr to dvdr
Scart from dvdr to tv

TV has only 1 scart socket ariel in and out
VCR has only 1 scart socket ariel in and out
DVDR has 2 scart sockets ariel in and out

If the dvdr is recording on BBC1 that is the only channel I can watch as when i press a different channel i get a rolling picture of the channel on the dvdr. I have tried changing the cables around. Tried pressing the TV button on the dvdr remote aaaggghhh!!

Any suggestions????

JayCee

Distinguished Member
konfused! said:
Hi everyone, I am a real beginner so please be patient with me! :)

I have bought a Goodmans DVD recorder which I have managed to set up with my TV and VCR. Only problem is when the dvdr is recording I can't watch a different channel on the tv!! kind of defeats the point of having one. :mad:

I will try to explain my setup:-

Ariel from tv to vcr
RF Coaxial lead from vcr to dvdr
Scart from dvdr to tv

TV has only 1 scart socket ariel in and out
VCR has only 1 scart socket ariel in and out
DVDR has 2 scart sockets ariel in and out