Good quality Coax cables, worth it??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by MrNPG, May 16, 2005.

  1. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi folks,

    I presently just use "cheapie" coax cables to link from my aerial socket on the wall to my VCR and then another one from the VCR to my plasma TV.

    Would I notice any improvement in TV picture quality if I was to buy a couple of decent quality coax cables or would it not be worth it?

    If I would notice an improvement, any recommendations for where I can buy such cables?

    Cheers.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
  3. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +63
    Cheers for the link John :)
     
  4. Pat Marcus

    Pat Marcus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ibstock
    Ratings:
    +8
    i upgraded my wall-to-freeview coax from a freebie to a £25 ixos item. It made a clearly visible difference. Well worth it.
     
  5. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Very well worth it. Those cheapo leads you get from currys and the like are the cause of most messy pictures on TVs I see in client houses. Replace with a run of decent shielded 75ohm coax and some proper crimp RF connectors and the improvement is immediate.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Are we talking analogue or freeview? If it's analogue, you'd be better to go straight from the aerial socket to the plasma, with a decent coax, don't need to go wild here, and use a powered aerial splitter for the VCR. Digital TV, you've either got it or you havent. If you get picture breakup, look at the aerial and all points down the chain. If you have no breakup, putting a better coax is just 'pulling the chain' on some valuable beer money IMHO. Someone correct me, if you like. You'll need to justify how you can get more info from the digital signal, and how you will know when you have.
     
  7. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi MAW, this is for an analogue signal (no Freeview in my area unfortunately). Looks like it might be worth me buying some decent cables then.

    Thanks for all your comments.
     
  8. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    forgive me if i'm wrong but as i see it there is no point upgrading the coax from the aerial socket to the plasma if the cable from the actual aerial to the aerial socket is of poor quality (and 90% are unless you had a good specialist installer)

    surely it would be better to replace the existing aerial cable with say CT100(i know this is a digital cable but at some point freeview will be available in the area) and start from there - might as well check quality/reception through existing aerial at the same time as an aerial upgrade could well be worth doing at the same time :D
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Good point indeed. I suppose it also depends whether there is real trouble, or whether Mr NPG is just striving for the last 1/2 % and his picture is actually what we'd call very good. If we install an aerial, we don't use wall plates if we can help it, but crimp the connector straight on to the CX100 from the aerial. That can make the difference, with freeeview, of watchable TV or not.
     
  10. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks MAW for pointing out not using wall plates with the aerial feed! - forgot that one :D

    when i had an entire new aerial system fitted i made sure that this was the method used :smashin:
     
  11. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Yes that is very true, but the reverse side of that coin is that the interconnect cable from the socket to the TV itself is of such awful quality that replacing it with properley shielded lead makes quite a noticeable difference. It is very rare the cable inside the wall is as bad as the turd cables you can buy on the high st, it's likely to be pretty damn cheap but it's usually CT100 with some amount of shielding on it.
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Liam, you obviously visit a client who's had a better class of aerial installer than me! Most of my clients are not 'enthusiasts' though, and likely last upgraded their aerial on the changover from 405 to 625 line TV. Before you were born then.

    PS looking out of my office window, I can see 5 old 405 line aerials!
     
  13. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Well many of my clients are new house builds which may be the factor (or we're building their house where I do insist on proper cabling). I tend to find electricans wokring under contract with developers will keep at least half decent CT100 in the van as they can use it for RF or Sky wiring. This is generally the cheapest they will get their hands on, but it's still not as bad as those thin wirey leads that come with equipment or you buy on the high st, that have very poor contact between the lead and the plug, and just about zero shielding. I'm not saying the stuff in the walls is any good, but it's still better than the core in the interconnects and is screw-clamped into the wall plug. So a well made lead will see some improvement as it is removing/improving the lowest common denominator and getting a better connection all the way through, even if over poor cable. Whether right in theory or no, I've seen the difference time and again with my own eyes and like I said, for an extra few quid it's hardly worth not doing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice