Good News on Dav-s550

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by bruno_scalera, Oct 3, 2002.

  1. bruno_scalera

    bruno_scalera
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just been on Tottenham Court Road and went into one of an array of electronics stores. A Sony UK guy happened to be in one of them whilst i was enquiring about the DAV-S550 system and the subtitle bug that is plaguing it.

    He said that all new systems from now on will have the problem resolved. He also showed me a cd which corrected the problem, i assume for existing owners.

    Let's hope his words are true, as i'm dying to get one as they are rare at the moment probably due to the subtitle problem.

    Thought i'd pass this useful info on.

    Cheers

    Bruno
     
  2. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Bruno, I e-mailed Sony yesterday to see if they had an update, will post if they respond. Apart from the irritating subtitle bug I am very pleased with the unit and can highly recommend it.
     
  3. bruno_scalera

    bruno_scalera
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes they do look very cool indeed, can't wait to get my hands on one :) and most comments i've seen about it are very positive excluding the now resolved subtitle issue :)
     
  4. rmsdev

    rmsdev
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello

    I am awaiting the DAV S880

    but basically I know it's gonna sound the same

    How do you find PL II ... do you use it alot fot your TV broadcasts?

    and could you please confirm if it has component and or/RGB scart

    thanks
     
  5. DavidC

    DavidC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just spoken to Sony and they say that at the moment the fix is not available. So It looks like the subtitles are here to stay a bit longer.
     
  6. bruno_scalera

    bruno_scalera
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has component out and s-video out, but not an RGB scart according to the sony catalogue, which is common with the c770 and s550. Correct me if i'm wrong fellow forum members.

    Cheers

    Bruno
     
  7. DavidC

    DavidC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    STILL NO FIX FOR SUBTITLE PROBLEMS
    Unsold Machines have been recalled worldwide. I have read that Sony are looking to resupply the machines to the US in November
    In the Us the Davs 550 is called the dream machine 770 more like nightmare 770.

    Very little help from sony customer support. It would make the problem more bearable to live with if Sony gave us some feedback instead of just ignoring us.:mad:
     
  8. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have sent an E-mail to What hi-fi as thay gave this product such a good review, maybe they will be interested in taking up this problem with Sony after all they did give this the product of the year in its class!

    If anyone else wants to e-mail them the address is

    [email protected]

    The more that E-mail the more likely thay will be to help us.

    This is not inteded as a dig at sony or its product, more about the lack of communication.
     
  9. DavidC

    DavidC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have also sent an email to them.

    Dave C
     
  10. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really don't know what is all the fuss about!

    I never watch a dvd without a subtitle :cool:

    I bet this system is for non-english speaking lands only :)
     
  11. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Had a reply from What Hifi, they are not aware of this problem and have asked me some questions, will let you know if I here anymore.

    To anyone that reads this and is thinking of buying the DAVS550 when they get the subtitle problem sorted this unit will deserve 5 out of 5!
     
  12. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Good news, got a phone call from Sony today telling me a fix is now available for the problems and have been instructed to take the unit to my local repair centre.

    Lets hope it works as when this problem is sorted I will be 100% happy with this unit.
     
  13. rmsdev

    rmsdev
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi bobble

    how do you find PLII on the DAV550
    Somebody posted that it lacks bass

    Regards
     
  14. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi

    I have no problems with bass, however I would say the bass in PLII is probably not as well defined as with a DD or DTS soundtrack.

    It probably depends what you are comparing to I have heard mission flat panel speakers/Sub with Denon Amp (costing well over double the DAV) and the bass is in a completly different league with this setup, however at the price point I don't really think the Sony unit can be faulted (appart from subtitle problems of course).
     
  15. njiri

    njiri
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bobble, Please let us know how you get on.
    I've just bought one, and have the same problem with subtitles. Otherwise, it's a fab bit of kit. Stuff magazine this month say it's the dogs doodies.
    On the component video,( not you bobble) if your telly's got an s-video socket, use it. I've tried everywhere to get a component video-scart and failed.......... just have to get a new telly...... anyone got any ideas?
    Njiri.
     
  16. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Anyone that has this unit and is thinking of getting it repaired, it is worth waiting a little while longer and living with subtitle glitch as my unit has been classed as being "beyond repair", not bad considering it is just over a month old! It is being replaced by a new unit but they are currently unavailble. So if you are thinking of getting yours fixed it is worth waiting until stocks are again availble as it looks like I could be in for a long wait.
     
  17. ghdk

    ghdk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a bit of a novice but bought one of these this week.
    I'm now getting worried! Could somebody tell me what the subtitle problem is? I dont appear to have a problem yet!

    With regard to connections. I have an old SONY TV which has only SCART and S-Video input. The S-Video is round the front though and a little ugly.

    Cant you get a S-video to Scart lead?

    Which will produce the greatest quality picture?

    Thanks.:confused:
     
  18. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ghdk, i've just posted a question about this here.

    Good luck,

    Giselle
    XXX
     
  19. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The problem is subtitles come on at the start of nearly all DVD's, and always come on at the layer change, also subtitles appear when there is a sign on the screen. You must be one of the lucky few who has purchsaed the unit with new firmware.
     
  20. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Got my DAVS550 replaced with new unit (not repaired) received back today, so far so good, no subtitles at all and also noticed on some DVD's such as Shrek, orange lines under menu items now display correctly and dont carry on to far.

    Strangely the picture on this unit seems sharper than the last unit?

    Now I have trouble free unit I am 100% happy with this unit at the pricepoint.
     
  21. renotech

    renotech
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here in Hong Kong we get UK versions of things (historical
    reasons, I suppose :) ). I bought a DAV-S550 locally which has
    the subtitles bug. Using the entry to maintenance mode shown
    on www.dvdchips.co.uk I found the following:

    DAV-S550 SP
    V.107

    IF conf 1.06
    Syskon 1.07 (8EA6)
    DAV-S550
    Reg 03
    Cfg 07262410
    Front End V 1.17

    [HK is part of DVD region 3.]

    Sony Hong Kong promises to change out the system board
    for one with the new software, and I will report it's versions
    if the upgrade is successful.

    It was very difficult to get Sony to acknowledge the problem
    and this forum's posts turned the corner (thank you).

    If anyone who doesn't have the subtitle problem could post
    their version numbers that would be helpful.

    --Sam
     
  22. renotech

    renotech
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sony replaced my mainboard (?), the new firmware
    version is 1.22(?) [maybe 1.24]. I also notice somewhat
    improved video quality (composite) as mentioned by the other
    writer. Apparently, these machines aren't field upgradable.

    While I'm happy to have the thing fixed, I'm disappointed
    in Sony's denial/non-communication. So disappointed in fact
    I'll rethink future Sony purchases. It took like two or three
    months of wrestling with Sony to get a fix, a 90 day labor
    warranty may well have expired by now.

    Sony certainly doesn't want unnecessary upgrade calls but
    when the customer DOES call in with a bonafide problem they
    need to step up to the responsibility.

    Yes - Sony, ignore it and it WILL go away - and take it's check-
    book with it.

    --Sam
     
  23. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    My replacement unit is

    IF CON 1.06
    Sys Con 1.24
    Front end 1.17

    Looks like sys con is only upgrade.
     
  24. ghdk

    ghdk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had my S550 machine nearly a month now and I've noticed that on a few occasions it exhibited a combination of frame skipping and short pausing.

    It doesn't happen all the time but has happened with 3-4 different movies some of which were brand new!

    Anybody experieneced this with their machine?
     
  25. renotech

    renotech
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I've seen this. I am unsure if it is due to the individual
    disk or the machine (DVD drive?) . As I have had new firmware
    for about only one day I'll reserve judgement for a while.

    Others?
     
  26. jetseter

    jetseter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    I'v tried to reach bobble via e-mail also and wanted to ask this:

    Since I ordered (not pay for it yet ;) ) a DAVS550 just yesterday (Europe/Greece), I want to know if there is a way to identify a newer firmware version unit from an old one, but without opening the packaging (by the serial number on the box for example) or at least without have to switch it on -

    I know that there is a way to check this by the engineering menu, but I need this because I have to find a way to persuade the store salesman to check if the unit will have the subtitles bug before I finally pay for it....

    any ideas anybody? My delivery date is getting closser....
     
  27. bobble

    bobble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi, sorry jetseter have not seen an e-mail from you,

    From what I understand after Sony found out how serious this issue was all unsold units were recalled, providing you are buying a brand new unit you should not have any problems at all. If you are having to wait for delivery you will almost definetly be getting a new/sorted unit.

    Bobble.
     
  28. jetseter

    jetseter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi bobble - no problem about the E-mail probably I did something wrong.

    So as I said, I was really worried about getting a faulty unit:eek: , so I call them up and postoped my payment (and also my delivery) in order to check with the local Sony representatives, if they are aware about this and have take care about it.

    Probably they will now of a way to distinguish between an new and a faulty unit. Thanks for the reply. I will come back if have any news.;)
     
  29. DavidC

    DavidC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So here is the story as I see it and based on my experience

    1) All the early units supplied by Sony could not be patched using the disc fix. If you bought one of these the chances are you will get a replacement.

    2) Later units can be fixed using the disc fix.

    3) New units supplied are all OK.

    Therefore as long as you buy from a reputable dealer the unit you get now will be OK but why not check it in the shop using a disc with subtitles on it (They nearly all exhibit the problem on the bad machines).

    Silly Sony !!
     
  30. jetseter

    jetseter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, my call to Sony was useles. Eventually they admited afterall that there WAS a problem but not anymore, so they recommend me to go and buy a unit and IF something will go wrong, then the Sony service will take care of it - but then again: that is what I am trying to avoid!;)

    Anyway, maybe I will go and risk my chances...... At least I have wharn them...:cool: Anybody who thinks otherwise?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice