Good looking and quite floor standing speakers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by chriswt, Apr 26, 2007.

1. chriswt

chriswt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the market for a new set of floorstanding speakers. My to requirements are that they are good looking (not big fat blocks of timber like my Regas) and the they sound good.

However, I'm really after a quality sound at lower volumes because I don't live in a detached house. Am I talking complete rubbish or does sound quality at different volumes vary from speaker to speaker.

I'm looking to spend around £400 to £500.

Cheers

2. Shimmie

Shimmie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm only new to this game and would also be interested in the answer to this question.

If the intention is not to play music at any significant volume, does it make more sense to opt for high quality standmounts plus high quality speaker stands, rather than bigger floorstanding speakers?

Could also save quite a bit in the process?

Something like the Wharfedale Evo2 - 8 speakers or something similar?

Or will good floorstanding speakers perform well at lower volumes?

3. Cynar

Cynar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +248
    I don't think the volume really has anything to do with it.
    Floorstanders tend to be better able to produce lower frequencies than equivalent standmount models.
    It's more a case of what is suitable for your room than what volume you want to listen at.
    The financial savings aren't always that great either - decent stands aren't cheap!

4. Shimmie

Shimmie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fair enough. Are there any rules-of-thumb in relation to judging whether your room would be suitable for floorstanding speakers, rather than being better going with smaller standmounts?

Is there a recommended "minimum" room size or something along those lines?