Good freesat box?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by XSP, Jan 7, 2012.

Tags:
  1. XSP

    XSP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worldwide
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All can you guys point me in the right direction for a good freesat box?
    with capability to record and rewind etc etc

    Thanks in advance:smashin:
     
  2. Stiggy

    Stiggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sandy Heath
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    Logicel will be along in a moment to direct you to the freesat.co.uk website with a list of all the PVRs available.

    The Humax is very popular around here.
     
  3. Saggy

    Saggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +88
    Might not be the best but saw a goodman had freesat for £39
     
  4. Railway

    Railway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +105
    :laugh:

    Very happy with my Humax HDR, others seem to restrictive:
    No padding, no save to USB or network etc.

    Avoid Harvard made models, Goodmans Bush etc.
     
  5. Saggy

    Saggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +88
    But that just a viewer not a recorder.
     
  6. Pistachio

    Pistachio
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    This is one of the many good humax boxes that it will be worth you checking out. The Hd pic quality is stunning and it also has the same sort of features as sky + (pause, rewind, series link, record two channels) but without any monthly charges that sky would charge.

    These cost a lot more than the goodman boxes, but I think they are worth it.

    http://www.richersounds.com/product/freeview-freesat-pvr/humax/foxsat-hdr500/huma-foxsat-hdr-500g

    John lewis would probably have one if you were interested in a longer guarantee. RS would charge an extra 10% for the same guarantee.

    HTH
     
  7. reevesy

    reevesy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,762
    another vote for the humax....my only gripe is organising recorded programs is a bit restrictive for me... other than that great.

    cheers
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    As predicted here is the list of ALL the Freesat PVRs: freesat+ HD TV recorder - freesat.
    There is just one Humax, in two versions, so I don't get the reference to "many good humax boxes".
    It is the name that gets the most mentions on the forum, and most of the mentions are favourable, so I see no reason to doubt that it is a good quality machine.
    The others that get fewer mentions don't get specifically bad mentions, so there's no reason to suggest that they are not of equally good quality.
     
  9. XSP

    XSP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worldwide
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much guys,
    really helpfull:thumbsup:
     
  10. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    Can you explain ?. You can create your own folders and move multiple recordings into these. What's missing ? (apart from moving a whole folder into another)
     
  11. reevesy

    reevesy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,762
    well in my case i've loads of 'later with jools holland' shows recorded.....some are grouped in different folders and some are on their own

    ...i would like to group them all in one place...ideally one folder

    tried renaming them so they might all regroup together but the humax has just put loads on themes on the same name....eg later_with etc

    not sure if regrouping them in one folder can be done or not?


    cheers.
     
  12. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    Open File Manager (Media OPT+ File Manager)

    Cursor Right - press blue choose make folder. Create the folder and then click OK to open it.

    Cursor left and open one of the folders you want to copy the contents of into your new one. Press Yellow (edit mode). Set a tick using OK on all the files you want to move. Now Press the move button. Repeat for the other folders in turn. Move to the root folder and enter edit mode, select all the strays and repeat.
     
  13. JIMMYBO

    JIMMYBO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Check your local Argos store NOW:

    Humax Foxsat 320GB HD Freesat Digital TV Recorder @ £190 :smashin:
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    But still expensive, imho.
     
  15. killiedel

    killiedel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. JIMMYBO

    JIMMYBO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    But there's at least £190 worth (imho) of bundles - HD upgrade/Network connection advice etc all for free and available on this thread thanks to the briliant work of the Humax Foxsat firmware mods (no pun intended) :smashin:
     
  17. JIMMYBO

    JIMMYBO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    The RS box is just the same hardware/firmware but with a larger HD

    If you're upgrading to 1TB anyway, go for the 320GB from Argos (if you can locate one at a store near you) :rolleyes:
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Yes, I highly respect their expertise - but still have no idea what it actually does.;)
    I'm sure that whatever it is is very useful to them, but doubt its relevance for Mr Average.
     
  19. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    Considering the number of postings requesting how to view their box on other TV's I imagine it's very relevant to many Mr Averages :D

    You can watch different recorded content on multiple tv's completely independently of the main user.


    eg

    Dad could be watching the footie live, number one son could be watching a recording of Top Gear in his bedroom and the better half a recording of Corrie in the kitchen all from the one box :D
     
  20. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    So, that's what all the jargon is about?!:clap:
     
  21. Retro Oswald

    Retro Oswald
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,280
    And how would one go about being able to do that?
     
  22. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    By using the "at least £190 worth (imho) of bundles - HD upgrade/Network connection advice etc all for free and available on this thread thanks to the briliant work of the Humax Foxsat firmware mods" that prompted my question and glt's reply.
     
  23. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    I think that logi now understands some of the capabilities of the Foxsat-hdr (it took a while :D).

    Raydon and other conrtributors deserve the credit ( Raydon get a job with a pvr maker, the result would be fantastic).

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/free...e-server-bundle-foxsat-hdr-release-4-0-a.html
     
  24. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    I took a while because until your post #19 nobody said in English what it's for.;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice