Question Good Amp and Speakers for Pro-Ject Carbon Debut?

Matthew90

Novice Member
I've been collecting vinyl for many years, it started off as a purely collectible thing to support my favourite bands but I thought i'd finally spring for a decent set up.

I'm completely new to all this but I've done some research and decided on the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC but I really don't know where to go from here with regards to amps/speakers.

I've been looking at the Yamaha A-S501 and various Marantz models for amps but don't really know what i'd need and what would work best.

I don't really know anything about pre-amps or whether i'd need one in this case

My preferred budget all in is around £800 so any recommendations and advice would be greatly appreciated.

sounddog

For £800 for a vinyl based system... I'd look at a Rega Brio R with something like Kef Q300, Monitor Audio Bronze 2 or perhaps stretch to B&W 685s2.

Of course for you you need to visit some HiFi stores and listen to what is best for you (especially for speakers).

sounddog

One question I should ask is what size room?

If you have a small room an alternative is to get something like Q Accoustic's BT3, attach you turntable via a phono preamp to the aux input and you can also use a phone/tablet via Bluetooth.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
Yes, we need the Room Dimensions? That would lend us some perspective.

Next, are there any requirements for the Amp?

- Does it need to have Tone Controls?

- Does it need to have a DAC (digital to analog converter)?

- Does it need to have Network Streaming Capability?

Are there any restrictions on the speakers? Bookshelf? Floorstanding? Other?

The Yamaha AS501 is 85w/ch with a DAC including Optical and Coaxial inputs. The most common place you would use Optical/Coaxial is when connecting a TV to the Stereo system. Though some computers come with Optical/Coaxial outputs now, so it could give you a high quality connection between a computer and the DAC.