1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good advice needed

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by old-Bill, Dec 15, 2003.

1. old-Bill

old-Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :confused:

Perhaps I'm just too old but I'm completely new to home cinema and the more I read the worse it becomes, my short term memory is fcuked which is no help at all.

Anyway, I,m looking for a home cinema and Television, I have looked at complete systems in the hope that I would have less chance of bollocking things up and came up with the Jamo DVR 50/A305PDD; as for televisions I dont have a clue, something around 32" 16:9 totally flat crt was in mind that would complement the Jamo. I play games on the computer and have cable TV.

To be completely honest I was thinking of spending around £2000-£2500 absolute max or less on the whole lot but as I am retired its likely I will keep it for a long time (Whichever one of us goes first!) so upgrading is not an issue but making a mistake is as I will live with it.

My living room is 18'x12' but the stairway is open plan allowing heat and sound to escape.

I am not looking for complex technical details , simply a suggestion for a cinema setup and Tele from a knowledgeable expert and not my local shops salesperson trying to unload his stock on an old duffer.

Thanking you all for replies in advance.

Bill Gordon:zonked:

2. daviedee

daviedee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there, i was in the same position as yourself not so long ago, i got the what hi-fi mag and read all the reviews and the system that suited my needs (wifes really) was the toshiba 32zd26p which has won best buy, and the panasonic scht900. the tv was £819 and dvd was £409, shop around using www.dealtime.co.uk or www.pricerunner.co.uk