Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Good advice from dealers re: ASW750

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by TheSeer, Apr 22, 2004.

1. TheSeer

TheSeer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am looking to buy a good quality sub. As I have no experience with subs, I thought it would be a good idea to have one on home loan before committing to buy. Based on threads in this forum I was keen on trying a BW ASW750.

So, this lunchtime, I went to two of the dedicated audio shops in the town (no names) to enquire after the 750. The first shop didn’t have the 750 but did have some lower-end BW subs. The second shop did have a 750 in stock. The advice I got from both was very interesting & surprising.

The first shop told me that because the lower-end RELs were so good, they were going to cut back on their BW subs. Effectively, I was advised to try a REL – the 750 would have to be special order so a home loan was difficult.

The second shop enquired as to what I was going to use the sub for (music & movies) and then went on to say that although the 750 was very good for movies, I would be much better going for a REL as this would allow me to use high-level inputs which would provide a much ‘fuller’ bass for music. Again, effectively, I was steered to the REL range

I must admit, based on this forum, I had the impression that the 750 was an excellent sub able to compete with the best at its price point (SVS excepted, possibly). Or, might there be another reason why I was being steered to the RELs…………….?

Was I given good advice? Was the dealer opinion reasonable?

My room is 2700 cubic feet and I listen to music at -15 to -13db to reference on my system.