1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

going plasma in the month or so ( need advice )

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by stuartam_81, Mar 17, 2005.

1. stuartam_81

stuartam_81
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys,
    i have just about finished the living room and are nearing the order of a plasma tv but i need some advice as what would suit my needs, all i will be plugging into the screen would be a HTPC ( stored dvd's ) and a sky dodgy box.

now the screen i have in mind is a panny TH-42PHD7 with the DVI-D terminal board. should i add a scaler if i go this route.

or a panny VIERA TH-42PV500B ( and release dates )without the scaler ( as i understand the screen has a better scaler built in so an external one would be worthless )

all advice needed ( im very new to plasma's )

best regards

2. Piers

Piers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +229
    I also have a PHD7 with the DVI board, but I've also got a Lumagen DVI. The PHD7 will give great results with Sky connected into the VGA port through a RGB to VGA converter, but you can do even better (at some cost!) with the Lumagen particularly if you go for a Sky + V1 box modified to output SDI (and you also need the SDI board for the Lumagen). The results are approaching DVD quality from the higher bit-rate channels off Sky, but it isn't inexpensive!

Without a scaler the PHD7 will be all but useless when high def TV from Sky arrives. The current Vieras aren't in the same league as the PHD7, haven't seen the new ones so can't comment. The inbuilt scaler won't be a match for a Lumagen / DVDO HD+ .

Final word of advice - don't buy without seeing the plasma - the problem is that there are very few places where you can do so, and see it properly set up. If you happen to be in the West Midlands check my sig!!

3. MAW

MAW
    Banned

Products Owned: