1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going From IR to Wired

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by EvilMudge, May 6, 2003.

  1. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Top Secret Project No 17

    Anyoe know of any problems I may encounter when trying to convert an IR remote into a hard wired one?
    I plan to disconnect the IR emitters and receivers and hardwire these together, probably with a small resistor to minimise the risk of excess current. I was also going to run a power line throught he cord so that the batteries are made redundant (and the unit is lighter) - good or bad idea?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK first why?
    Second are you nuts?
    Third do you have 3 months and the cash to replace buggered remotes?
    This would be a huge can of worms mate best left alone as far as i can see!
     
  3. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1stly - I'll be using upwards of 20 identical remotes, all from the same unit, ie same codes, and I don't want people interfering with each other.
    2ndly - yes, but that's beside the point.:D
    3rdly - since I'm screwed either way, what choice do I have?:suicide:
     
  4. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +105
    Sorry, but i have to ask why??

    You can achieve the same net result, ( i assume you want to press one remote butoon once and get 20 of the same product to do the same thing) by using a s fairly simple Xantech system, know it will work (although may cost abit) and avoid the problems that may ensue.

    Or am i missing the point :)
     
  5. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually it's the other way round Elliot, I want 20 people to be able to use the same controller, each to control their individual unit, but not each others. Now if I could assign each remote it's own controller code (as you can do with various third party products) it would be okay, but these are dirt cheap, which is why I'm modifying them. That and they needed to be splashproofed, which means sealing them up pretty well, so taking the batteries out makes it a whole lot easier.
     
  6. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +105
    Aaah i see.

    Good luck :eek: :eek:
     
  7. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :smashin: :suicide:
    I'm guessing I'm going to have to take a risk and mess with one set then.:rolleyes:
     
  8. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +452
    Another option ... a short length of fibre optic, mounted/taped to the IR emmiter at one end and to the IR reciever at the other end.

    Vikki
     
  9. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Vikki,
    problem is that focusing the entire output of an IR emitter right onto the IR receiver might overload it. I'll give it a shot though with a crappy old TOSLink cable and see what happens.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Still don't get what you are try ing to do but let me know how you get on.
     
  11. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +452
    I assume he wants n people with a remote control to control 1 CD player (or whatever) without being able to influence any other CD player.

    As for the fibre optic solution, I remember reading about it (a long time ago) in use in a hospital raido studio.

    Vikki
     
  12. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh well, contract went to someone else so no harm spilling the beans.

    Was trying to setup a hospital ward system, whereby everyone has their own LCD monitor attached to their bed, with a remote hooked up to a TV tuner with a VGA output. Problem being that every tuner unit was identical, and they all had the same remote codes. If you can imagine what would happen in a ward of even six or seven people when someone hit Chan + on one remote and everyone's TV channel changed...:devil:
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    You could have reduced the current to the IR transmitter to give a range of 1 foot. That would have been quite simple, replace the load resistor!
    You should speak freely young paduan, you are amongst friends.
     

Share This Page

Loading...