Glass bead or matt white for Acer H5360BD

shadieb

Just purchased the above projector from Amazon.de, and now looking for a decent electric remote screen to go with it, would like 100 inch +. Which would be better suited to the projector, glass bead or matt white screen?

Anybody got any recommendations on a suitable brand or able to recommend they are using?

Thanks for your help.

marcosscriven

This is a very bright projector, and even in 3d I find just projecting onto a matte white painted wall is good.

I'm no expert, but anything high gain sounds like it would be too bright

D

dovercat

If you do not get a tab tensioned screen then you may end up having problems with visible waves on the screen.

For an idea of image brightness, screen gain.
A piece of white xerox photocopy paper is about 0.92 gain

Glass bead screen

Advantages

It is high gain usually around 2.5, for brighter and more vivid image.

It is retro-reflective, light bounces back the direction it came. Reducing the amount of light bouncing on to the side walls, ceiling, floor, and the amount of the light bouncing back onto the screen from the room that is being directed at the viewer. This can improve contrast.
Screen waves, in the image, if the screen is not flat, tab tensioned, are less noticeable than with a non-retro reflective screen.

Disadvantages

Limited viewing angle for best results.
Retro-reflective, reflects light back the direction it came. The more off this angle you are the less gain you get, picture brightness drops of rapidly.
Ideally you want the projector long throw, the longer the throw the less the angle projector light > screen, so the wider the viewing angles.