1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gigabyte 9600pro

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by JimB, Jun 25, 2003.

  1. JimB

    JimB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I ordered a 9500pro from this place http://www.home-pc.co.uk/browse.php?code=ATI9500DDR on the understanding they actually had the card.

    This morning a Gigabyte 9600pro turned up instead, this one :(

    If I can't get a 9500pro, then I was going to get a 9600pro anyway. Should I just keep the card (they have charged me £148.64 including P&P) and save my self the hassle of returning it.

    The card is sat there and I really want to pop it in my PC.

    What do you think?
     
  2. joecool

    joecool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 9600pro is the replacement for the 9500pro but is actually slower than the card it replaces! you might have trouble getting a 9500pro because it is no longer in production. you can shop around you never know.
     
  3. JimB

    JimB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, I realise the 9600pro is slower, but since you can't get a 9500pro anywhere there's not a lot I can do.

    Anyway I installed the card last night and it looks great compared to what I upgraded from - a Vividxs 32mb!!!!
     
  4. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Unfortunately, now you have installed it and it is fully functional, I think you have missed your opportunity for a refund (which you should have requested as a matter of principle)

    Still, it's a cracking upgrade!

    Big A
     
  5. JimB

    JimB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Big A - I did complain & received an apologetic email offering a full refund, but since I had the card I thought might as well keep it.
     
  6. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Overclock it.
     
  7. JimB

    JimB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stable at 506.25 core & 344.25 memory.

    The memory wont go over 345 without some mad artifacts.

    The core will go a bit higher but I'm still experimenting with it.

    Pretty good really.
     
  8. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    those speeds mean nothing (although those are good overclocks). what scores do you get in 3dmark2001se?
     

Share This Page

Loading...